Best Free AI Book Cover Generators in 2026: 8 Tools Compared
Short answer: Adobe Express is the best free starting point: daily free generations, PDF and PNG exports, and an FAQ that says generative AI outputs can generally be used commercially. BookCoversLab is the print pick, but it has no free plan. Kittl and Recraft bar commercial use on their free plans.
Many tools that sell themselves as free book cover generators are image generators or design editors with a cover template. For a book you plan to sell, the free plan has to answer three questions: how much you can generate, whether the export is clean of watermarks, and whether the output is licensed for commercial use. The answers differ more than the feature lists suggest.
Dupple data: seven of the eight tools we ranked have a free plan. Five of those seven let you generate images on it, and only three of the five say generated images can be used commercially.
Every allowance and price below comes from the vendor's own pricing page, read on October 10, 2026. We made no covers and judged no output quality. Where a page does not state a limit, the table says "Not stated" rather than guessing.
Quick comparison
| Tool | Free allowance | Export and watermark on free | Commercial use on free | Cheapest paid tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Express | Daily generations, number not stated | JPEG, PNG, PDF, GIF, PPT; watermark not stated | Yes, per the FAQ | Premium $9.99/mo, billed monthly |
| Playground | 10 images every 3 hours; 3 monthly generations | Resolution and watermark not stated | Yes, royalty-free license | Pro $12/mo billed yearly ($144 up front) |
| Fotor | Free daily credits, amount not stated | Watermark and resolution not stated | Yes, per the FAQ | Check current pricing |
| Visme | 10 AI credits a month | JPG, PNG, PDF; watermark not stated | Not stated | Starter $147/yr ($12.25/mo per person) |
| Venngage | 5 designs; AI only as a trial | PNG export starts on Premium; watermark not stated | Not stated | Premium $10/mo billed yearly ($19 monthly) |
| Recraft | Free plan; allowance not stated | Watermark not stated; free images are public | No, not licensed | Check current pricing |
| Kittl | AI allowance not stated | High-resolution and vector exports need an upgrade | No, personal use only | Check current pricing |
| BookCoversLab | No free plan; free AI cover generator, limits not stated | Print-ready PDF needs a paid package | Not stated for the free tool | AI Print $19.99 one-time |
Sources: Adobe Express pricing, Playground pricing, Fotor pricing, Visme pricing, Venngage pricing, Recraft pricing, Kittl pricing, BookCoversLab pricing. Checked October 2026.
What a usable free cover needs
A free AI book cover generator is a tool that makes cover art or a full layout from a prompt or template without charging you. For a book, the free output has to pass three checks: the license covers a book you sell, the export has no watermark, and the file fits the format you publish in. A paperback needs a full wrap with a back cover and a spine, which none of the free plans on this list mention.
Methodology: how we checked
- We read each vendor's pricing page on October 10, 2026, and recorded the free allowance, export formats, watermark rule, commercial-use statement and the cheapest paid step.
- We ranked by commercial rights first, then by how generous the free allowance looks on the page. A free plan that bars commercial use cannot rank above one that allows it.
- Prices are in US dollars as each vendor lists them. We did not convert any euro price.
- Canva, Ideogram, Leonardo and Lovart are not ranked, because we have no verified free allowance for any of them yet.
Adobe Express: daily free generations and a commercial-use FAQ
Adobe Express gives its free plan daily generations for images, text effects and templates. The page does not give a number, so test within that day's allowance rather than against a monthly total. The free plan exports JPEG, PNG, PDF, GIF and PowerPoint. The page does not state a watermark rule for free downloads or a maximum resolution on the free plan.
Commercial use is the main reason to start here. Adobe's FAQ says you may, in general, use outputs from its generative AI features commercially. The FAQ does not split that rule by print or ebook, so read the terms before you put a print cover on a paperback. For general free image tools, see best free AI image generators.
The catch is the print file. The page does not mention a full-wrap or spine export, so Adobe Express gives you cover art, not a KDP-ready file. Premium is the cheapest paid step at $9.99 a month, billed monthly with no annual commitment.
Playground: a royalty-free license on the free plan
Playground's Free plan lists a worldwide, royalty-free commercial license. The limits are tight: up to 10 images every three hours, and three monthly generations across the models the page lists. The page also says generation slows at peak hours and that there is a waiting period once you reach a limit. It does not give a watermark rule or a resolution for free output.
Pro costs $12 a month on annual billing, which is $144 charged up front. It raises the cap to 75 images every three hours, adds 150 monthly credits and includes AI image editing up to 2048 by 2048 pixels. For a cover that you will test many times before picking one, the free cap is the number that matters.
Fotor: free daily credits and a commercial FAQ
Fotor's AI image generator works from a text prompt or a reference image, needs no sign-up to try, and gives free daily credits. The page does not say how many credits you get a day, what the free export resolution is, or whether free downloads carry a watermark. It says AI images can be created at 4K, but it does not name the plan that includes that.
Its FAQ says generated images are supported for commercial projects, without naming a plan. That is a useful signal for a cover, but check the full terms before you put a printed book on it. Paid plans are sold as monthly credit bundles, so check current pricing before you buy.
Visme: 10 AI credits a month and unlimited projects
Visme's free plan has unlimited projects and exports JPG, PNG and PDF. Its AI allowance is 10 credits a month, which is a monthly number you can plan around. The page does not give a resolution for free exports, and it does not state commercial use for free designs.
On watermarks, the page says Visme branding appears on material you have published online after a paid account is canceled. That matters if a cover stays live after you stop paying. Starter costs $147 a year, or $12.25 a month per person.
Venngage: five designs on Free, PNG exports on Premium
Venngage's free plan allows five designs, six image uploads and a free trial of its AI tools. PNG export starts on Premium, which is $10 a month billed yearly or $19 billed monthly. The page does not state a watermark rule or a commercial-use statement for the free plan.
For template-first layouts, see best free graphic design software. Venngage AI sits on the Business plan, which is $24 a month per user billed yearly or $49 billed monthly. For a book cover, the free plan works as a layout test, not as an export route.
Recraft: free images are not licensed for commercial use
Recraft's free plan lets you generate images, but the page says images made on the free plan are owned by Recraft, appear in its public community gallery, and are not licensed for commercial use. For a book cover, that rules the free plan out.
Paid plans grant full ownership and commercial rights for images made while you subscribe, and those images stay private. Annual billing saves 20%. Check current pricing on the vendor page for plan prices and the free credit count.
Kittl: personal use only on the free plan
Kittl's free plan is for personal use only, and the page says it carries no commercial rights. Pro and Expert include a commercial license to reproduce designs in up to 500,000 copies across packaging, marketing, digital media or print. A cover for a book you sell needs one of those paid plans.
The free plan also lacks the high-resolution and vector exports, which the page lists among upgrade features. On the paid side, Expert gets 200 tokens a day and Max gets 600, on top of a monthly balance. The free AI allowance is not stated, so check current pricing for the plan costs before you commit.
BookCoversLab: a book-specific tool with no free plan
BookCoversLab does not offer a free plan. It offers free tools, including an AI Book Cover Generator and a KDP Cover Size Calculator, and says you can upgrade when you need higher-resolution exports. The page does not state limits for the free generator or the commercial rights to its output.
Print is where it earns its place. AI Print is $19.99 as a one-time payment with no subscription, and it includes one print-ready PDF and three AI cover generations. AI Print Pro is $39.99 and adds a paperback print PDF with 10 AI cover generations. AI Author Suite is $59.99 and covers eBook, paperback and hardcover. KDP full-wrap downloads use separate export credits, so count those before you buy.
What it costs to go from free to a print file
Take a self-publisher who wants one paperback with a print file. The free route, Adobe Express or Playground, gives you the art and the commercial-use statement, but no print file. The print file comes from BookCoversLab's AI Print, a one-time package that includes one print-ready PDF and three AI cover generations.
A subscription route looks different. Adobe Express Premium comes to $119.88 across a full year ($9.99 x 12), with no commitment. Visme Starter is $147 a year, and Playground Pro is $144 a year on annual billing.
For one paperback, the $19.99 one-time package is the cheapest print-file route on this list. A year of Adobe Premium costs about six times that, and Adobe's pricing page does not mention a print-ready wrap.
How to choose
- Ebook only, no budget: start with Adobe Express, and check its commercial terms against your category. If the art needs retouching, best AI photo editors covers that step.
- Paperback on KDP: use a free tool for concepts, then buy BookCoversLab's AI Print for the print PDF.
- Hardcover: BookCoversLab's AI Author Suite ($59.99) covers hardcover as well as eBook and paperback.
- Fast iteration: Playground lets you make up to 10 images every three hours on the free plan, and its license is listed as royalty-free.
- Any cover you will sell: do not build it on Kittl's or Recraft's free plans, because their terms rule commercial use out.
Common mistakes
- Treating "free" as "licensed." Kittl's free plan is personal use only, and Recraft's free images are not licensed for commercial use. A cover made there cannot go on a book you sell.
- Uploading a front image to KDP. A paperback needs a full wrap with a back cover and spine. None of the free plans here mention one, so budget for the print export from the start.
- Planning around a credit count you have not seen. Adobe Express and Fotor give daily allowances without a number, and Recraft's free credit count is not stated. Test one cover before you set a launch date.
- Assuming there is no watermark. Visme says its branding appears on material published online after a paid account is canceled. Check that rule before a cover goes live.
- Buying a subscription for one cover. BookCoversLab's AI Print is $19.99 once. A year of Adobe Premium at $9.99 a month is $119.88 and still does not produce a print file.
FAQ
What is the best free AI book cover generator in 2026?
Adobe Express, for most self-publishers. Its free plan has daily generations, PDF and PNG exports, and an FAQ that says generative AI outputs can generally be used commercially. For a print file, BookCoversLab's AI Print is a one-time purchase.
Can I sell a book with a cover made on a free plan?
Possibly, on Adobe Express, Playground or Fotor, whose pages say generated outputs can be used commercially. None of those pages says whether print and ebook use differ, so read the terms. Kittl's and Recraft's free plans do not allow commercial use.
Does BookCoversLab have a free plan?
No. It has free tools, including an AI Book Cover Generator. Its paid AI Print package is a one-time purchase.
Can I make a KDP paperback cover for free?
Not with the free plans on this list. Their pages describe images and PDFs, not a full wrap with a spine. BookCoversLab sells a print-ready PDF in AI Print, and its KDP full-wrap downloads use separate export credits.
How many free covers can I make in a month?
The pages count credits, generations and designs, not covers. Visme states 10 AI credits a month, and Playground lists 3 monthly generations across its models. Adobe Express and Fotor give daily allowances without a number, and Venngage's free plan has five designs and a trial of its AI tools.
Do the free plans add a watermark?
The pages we read do not state a watermark rule for free downloads on Adobe Express, Visme, Playground or Fotor. Venngage's free plan lists no PNG export, so its exports are limited before any watermark question arises.
Bottom line
Adobe Express is the starting point: daily generations, PDF and PNG exports, and a commercial-use statement in its FAQ. Playground adds a listed royalty-free license with 10 images every three hours. Skip Kittl and Recraft for any cover you will sell on their free plans. For a paperback, BookCoversLab's one-time AI Print is the cheapest print-file option on this list.
Cite this: Dupple, "Best Free AI Book Cover Generators in 2026", October 2026.
Want to build an AI design workflow for your next project? Try Dupple X
Related: best AI image generators for paid-first image tools, best free AI image generators for general free image tools, best free photo editors for editing, best AI for writing books for the manuscript, how to use AI to write a book for the process, and best free graphic design software for layout tools.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.