Best Free AI Image Extenders in 2026: Limits Compared

Trusted by770,000+ Techpresso subscribers·Editorial policy·How we make money

Short answer: Pixelcut is the best free pick for most people, because its free plan exports without a watermark and its Pro plan gives 300 Expand Image uses a day for $8 a month billed yearly. Pixlr is the free editor with Generative Expand, and Fotor says its extender needs no sign-up. Most of these vendors publish no number for free extensions, so read the allowance before you build a workflow around one.

Dupple data: our free AI image generators guide drew 129 AI-assistant referrals in the 90 days to 24 September 2026, 128 of them from ChatGPT. This list states, row by row, what each vendor publishes about free expansions, and says so where it publishes nothing.

Free limits at a glance

Tool Free expansions, as published Watermark on free Cheapest paid step (USD)
Pixelcut Expand Image listed as "Limited", no number Free exports carry no watermark Pro, $8 a month billed yearly: 300 Expand Image uses a day
Pixlr Generative Expand, no free number Not stated Plus, $1.99 a month billed yearly: 80 AI credits a month
Fotor "Limited Free credits", no number "No Watermarks" on its extender page No price printed on the pricing page
Clipdrop Uncrop on the free plan, no daily number Not stated Pro: 1,000 Uncrop runs per 24 hours, no price printed
Gemini Image generation and editing, no image count Not stated Google AI Plus, $4.99 a month, 2x Free usage
Picsart "A limited amount of free tries", no number Not stated Pro, $10.50 a month billed yearly
LightX Starter: up to 2 AI Expand images, exports at 512px Not stated Pro: 500 AI Expand images, priced in rupees only
Playground AI-extend is not on the Free plan Not stated Pro, $12 a month billed annually

What a free AI image extender does

An AI image extender adds new content past the edges of a photo, so a square product shot can become a 16:9 banner or a wider website header. Vendors call the same job outpainting, Generative Expand or uncropping. The free allowance is what decides whether you can finish a real project without paying, and it is the part most vendors leave out of their copy. If you need the whole picture made from a prompt instead, start with best AI image generators.

Methodology: how we ranked these tools

We verified each vendor's own pricing page, and its extender page where one exists, on 10 October 2026, and we copied only the prices and limits printed there. We did not run any of these tools on an image, so this page says nothing about output quality. Where a pricing page prints no price in its text, we quote none. The order is a judgment, not a score, based on what each free plan offers as published: the allowance, the watermark rule and the cheapest paid step.

1

Pixelcut: the most usable free plan

Start with Pixelcut if you need exports you can publish. Its free plan exports without a watermark, and it lists background removal and upscaling as limited. Expand Image is on the free plan too, but Pixelcut marks it "Limited" and gives no daily number. The first figure you can plan around sits on Pro, which allows 300 Expand Image uses a day. Business raises that ceiling to up to 1,200 a day.

Pro costs $10 a month, or $8 a month billed yearly. It includes 600 AI credits a month, 1,000 batch exports a month and a commercial license. Business costs $30 a month, or $24 billed yearly, with 3,600 credits and room for a 10-person team. If you extend a few photos a month, the free plan may be enough. If you extend a catalog every week, Pro is the first step with a published quota, and at the yearly rate it comes to $96 a year.

The weak point is the free "Limited" label. You cannot plan a week against it, so you find the cap by running into it.

Source: Pixelcut pricing, verified 10 October 2026.

2

Pixlr: the free editor with Generative Expand

Pixlr calls itself "100% free, right in your browser", and its AI tools include Generative Expand, which the site describes as extending image boundaries "in any direction with coherent AI outpainting". If you want to extend, crop and edit in one tab, it is the most complete free editor on this list.

The published numbers sit on the paid plans. Plus costs $2.49 a month, or $1.99 a month billed yearly, with 80 monthly AI credits. Premium costs $9.99 a month, or $7.99 billed yearly, with 1,000 monthly credits. Ultra starts at $24.99 a month, or $19.99 billed yearly. Pixlr lists ad-free editing as a Plus benefit, which suggests the free editor carries ads. Its pricing page gives no free credit count.

The weak point is that missing number. You can use the free editor at no cost, but you cannot tell in advance how many Generative Expand runs that will get you. For the wider field of editors, see best photo editing software.

Sources: Pixlr and Pixlr pricing, verified 10 October 2026.

3

Fotor: the extender that asks for no sign-up

Fotor's AI Image Extender page calls itself a free extender that uses AI outpainting to control composition, adapt the ratio and uncrop images. The same page says "Free to Try", "No Sign-up" and "No Watermarks". Those are the vendor's own claims, and they make Fotor the easiest option to try on a single image.

The allowance is the gap. Fotor's pricing page lists the free plan with "Limited Free credits" and no number. Its paid plans show no price on the pricing page, so this list quotes none for Fotor. A free try is useful for one image. It is not a plan you can build a week around.

Sources: Fotor AI Image Extender and Fotor pricing, verified 10 October 2026.

4

Clipdrop: Uncrop on the free plan

Clipdrop lists Uncrop, its extend tool, on the free plan, and the pricing table shows no daily number beside it. The free column does set daily caps on its other tools: 20 uses a day for background removal, the x2 upscaler, cleanup and relight, and 50 a day for text removal. Text to image and Uncrop carry no number at all.

Pro raises Uncrop to 1,000 runs per 24 hours and adds a skip-the-queue option. Pro's monthly price is not printed on the pricing page, so none is quoted here.

The trade-off is the queue. A skip-the-queue option on the paid plan implies that free users wait in one, and the free column gives you no number to plan a deadline against.

Source: Clipdrop pricing, verified 10 October 2026.

5

Gemini: image editing on a free account

Google lists Gemini's free plan at $0 a month with a Google Account, and the Free column includes "Image generation and editing". It is the only general AI assistant on this list. The plan page gives no daily image count, so Gemini suits occasional edits better than a fixed production queue.

The paid steps are measured in usage, not in images. Google AI Plus costs $4.99 a month and gives 2x higher usage access than Free. Google AI Pro costs $19.99 a month and gives 4x higher usage access. Neither page turns that multiplier into a number of extensions, so run a few of your own images before you assume a volume.

Source: Google AI plans, verified 10 October 2026.

6

Picsart: free tries with no published count

Picsart's AI Image Extender page says it lets you "Expand images at no cost with a limited amount of free tries". It does not say how many tries you get, and its text states no watermark policy. The page is aimed at people who need one image in a new ratio, which is a fair description of what the free tier is for.

Pro costs $15 a month, or $10.50 a month billed yearly, and Picsart says yearly billing saves up to 30 percent. The pricing page does not say how many extensions Pro includes, so check that inside the app before you pay.

Sources: Picsart AI Image Extender and Picsart pricing, verified 10 October 2026.

7

LightX: the only numeric free cap, and a small export

LightX is the only vendor on this list that prints a number for free expansions. Its Starter plan is free with lifetime validity, includes 6 AI credits a day, and allows up to 2 AI Expand images. That is a real cap, and it is a small one.

The export size is the bigger problem. Starter exports at 512 pixels, and only as JPG. Pro exports at 4,096 pixels in JPG or PNG and includes 500 AI Expand images. A 512-pixel file is fine for a thumbnail and too small for a print or a large banner. LightX prices Pro in Indian rupees only on its pricing page, so this list quotes no dollar price for it.

Source: LightX pricing, verified 10 October 2026.

8

Playground: extend is a Pro feature

Playground's free plan lets you create up to 10 images every three hours, with three monthly generations across several models. Its Free feature list does not include AI-extend, which makes the free plan a poor choice for this job. The Pro plan adds it: generate, resize and extend images up to 2048 by 2048 pixels with GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.5.

Pro costs $15 a month, or $12 a month billed annually, which comes to $144 a year. Pro Plus costs $45 a month, or $36 billed annually ($432 a year), and raises the ceiling to 3840 by 2160 pixels. If extension is your main job, count that annual cost before you compare it with a dedicated extender.

Source: Playground pricing, verified 10 October 2026.

What is left out

Photoroom has a free start, and its Pro plan costs $7.50 a month billed yearly. Its pricing page says AI Expand/Resize is included on every paid plan with no credit cost. Because the page lists no expand allowance for free accounts, Photoroom sits outside the free ranking, although it is worth a look if you already pay for it.

Adobe Firefly and Canva are not ranked here. We found no free expansion allowance for either that we can quote, and we would rather leave a tool out than guess at its limit. Check both before you plan a workflow around either.

How to choose

  • One or two images, no budget: start with Pixelcut's free plan. Then test Fotor's free try on the same photo and compare the two at the size you need.
  • A full free editor: Pixlr, which appears to show ads on its free plan, with Generative Expand among its tools.
  • Extensions every week: Pixelcut Pro, the only option here with both a US dollar price and a published daily Expand Image quota.
  • Print or large banners: skip LightX's Starter plan, whose export is too small for that.
  • Working in Photoshop already: see our Generative Expand guide for Photoshop, which covers Adobe's own extend tool step by step.

Common mistakes

  1. Planning around "Limited". Pixelcut's free Expand Image gives no number, so you learn the cap by hitting it in the middle of a deadline.
  2. Paying monthly by default. Pixelcut Pro costs $10 a month, which is $120 a year. Billed yearly, the same plan costs $96. The $24 gap is what flexibility costs.
  3. Assuming every free export is watermark-free. Pixelcut and Fotor say so on their own pages. Gemini, Pixlr, LightX, Clipdrop, Picsart and Playground do not state a watermark rule, so check the export before you publish.
  4. Ignoring export size. LightX's Starter exports are too small for a print or a large banner, so a free file can fail the placement you need.
  5. Expecting extension on a free Playground plan. Playground's Free feature list has no AI-extend. Pro starts at $12 a month billed annually, which is $144 a year.

FAQ

Is there a free AI image extender with no watermark?

Yes, with caveats. Pixelcut's free plan allows export without a watermark, and Fotor's extender page says "No Watermarks". Neither publishes a daily count for free expansions, so test one image at your final size before you rely on either.

How many free extensions does Pixelcut allow?

Pixelcut lists Expand Image as "Limited" on its free plan and gives no number. The first published figure is on Pro, which allows 300 Expand Image uses a day for $8 a month billed yearly.

Is Pixlr really free?

Pixlr describes itself as "100% free, right in your browser", and its AI tools include Generative Expand. Its paid plans start at $1.99 a month billed yearly, and Pixlr lists ad-free editing as a paid benefit.

Can Gemini extend an image for free?

Gemini's Free plan costs $0 with a Google Account and lists image generation and editing. Google does not publish a daily image count on that plan page, so it suits occasional edits better than a fixed workflow.

What is the cheapest way to extend images every day?

Among the tools here, Pixelcut Pro is the only one that pairs a US dollar price with a published daily Expand Image quota, and it costs $96 a year billed yearly. Check that your daily volume fits inside that quota before you pay.

Why are Adobe Firefly and Canva missing?

Neither has a free expansion allowance we can quote today, so both are left out rather than ranked on a guess.

Bottom line

Pixelcut is the free extender to start with, Pixlr is the free editor with Generative Expand, and Fotor is the quickest try. Only LightX prints a numeric free cap on expansions, and it is two images at 512 pixels. For regular work, Pixelcut Pro at $96 a year billed yearly is the lowest US dollar price on this list with a daily quota. Check the allowance before you build a workflow, and check the export size before you publish. Start the Dupple X trial.

Related on Dupple:

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Related Articles
Article

10 Best Canva Alternatives in 2026 (Compared and Priced)

10 best Canva alternatives in 2026, prices checked September 25. Affinity is free for the full suite; Adobe Express starts at $9.99/mo; Kittl at $15/mo.

Blog Post

Best Free AI Chatbots in 2026

The best free AI chatbots in 2026. ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot and Grok all have free tiers. What each one actually gives you before the $20 wall.

Article

10 Best AI Assistants in 2026

The best AI assistants in 2026: ChatGPT Plus at $20/mo, Claude Pro at $17/mo billed annually, Gemini Pro at $19.99/mo. Checked September 23, 2026.

Article

10 Best Vendor Management Software Tools in 2026

Vendor management in 2026: a priced file beside the purchase order, W-9 payments with no seat fee, and quote-only suites for third parties. Checked Sep 24, 2026.

Article

Is Suno Free in 2026? Free Plan Limits, Download Cap and 7 Alternatives

Suno's free plan gives 50 credits a day but only 7 lifetime downloads and no commercial rights. Suno and 7 alternatives compared, checked Oct 2026.

Article

9 Best CapCut Alternatives in 2026 (Free and Paid)

9 best CapCut alternatives in 2026, prices checked September 25. DaVinci Resolve Studio is $295 one time. Clipchamp is free with no watermark.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime