The Best AI Note Taker in 2026: Comu Action Pro vs Comulytic Note Pro vs PLAUD vs Pocket

The Best AI Note Taker in 2026: Comu Action Pro vs Comulytic Note Pro vs PLAUD vs Pocket
Key facts4 devices compared: Comu Action Pro, Comulytic Note Pro, Pocket, PLAUD Note Pro
  • Updated: October 30, 2026
  • Prices as of: October 2026
  • 4 devices compared: Comu Action Pro, Comulytic Note Pro, Pocket, PLAUD Note Pro
  • Comu Action Pro (best for: Turning meetings into follow-ups): $169.99; $159.99 with code DUPPLE
  • Comulytic Note Pro (best for: Value and fast capture): $109.69; $99.69 with code DUPPLE
  • Pocket (best for: The cheapest non-Comu device): $129 (list $199)
  • PLAUD Note Pro (best for: Compliance-heavy teams): $189

Updated October 29, 2026: prices re-checked on each vendor's site, cost comparison and FAQ added.

Short answer: as of October 2026, the Comu Action Pro is the best overall pick for turning meetings into follow-ups, at $169.99 or $159.99 with code DUPPLE. The Comulytic Note Pro is the best value at $109.69 ($99.69 with the code), with unlimited transcription on its free plan. Pocket costs $129 and needs its Pro plan, $19.99 a month billed yearly, for full AI. PLAUD Note Pro costs $189 with 300 free minutes a month.

Code DUPPLE: $10 off the Comu Action Pro, $159.99 instead of $169.99 (checked Oct 29, 2026). It also works on the Comulytic Note Pro.

Get the Comu Action Pro$169.99 $159.99 with code DUPPLE

Code DUPPLE at checkout: $10 off (checked Oct 29, 2026)

Four spec cards for the Comu Action Pro, Comulytic Note Pro, Pocket and PLAUD Note Pro, showing price, claimed battery, languages and free plan.
Our own summary: price, claimed battery, languages and free plan for the four devices, from vendor pages checked Oct 29, 2026.

AI note takers have quietly become one of the most useful pieces of hardware you can carry. Instead of scribbling notes in meetings or losing the thread of a long call, you clip on a small device, let it listen, and get back a clean transcript, a summary, and (increasingly) a list of things you actually need to do next.

But the category has split into two camps: simple "record-and-summarize" gadgets, and devices that try to turn your conversations into real work. Below we compare four of the most talked-about options in 2026 (Comu Action Pro, Comulytic Note Pro, PLAUD Note Pro, and Pocket) so you can pick the one that fits how you work.

Quick verdict

  • Comu Action Pro: Best overall for turning conversations into action. Up to 70 hours of battery (Comu's figure), 113-language transcription with real-time translation (once a month on the free plan, unlimited on Premium), plus unlimited AI transcription and basic summaries, and an "AI Workmate" approach that goes beyond summaries to draft follow-ups, documents, and action items.
  • Comulytic Note Pro: Best value. Comu's lighter, note-focused device for people who mainly want fast, reliable capture and summaries. It is also the cheapest device here.
  • Pocket: Best budget pick outside Comu: the cheapest non-Comu device here, with unlimited standard transcription, but more limited AI assistance for post-meeting tasks.
  • PLAUD Note Pro: Best for enterprise and security-conscious teams, with strong compliance certifications and a huge library of AI summary templates, at $189.

Wired's guide to AI notetakers, updated in October 2026, also names the Comu Action Pro its Best Overall pick and Pocket its runner-up, which matches the order used here.

At a glance

The four AI note takers compared: claimed battery, languages, free transcription, paid plans, display, storage and best use (October 2026)
Device Price (Oct 2026) Battery (claimed) Languages Free transcription included Paid plan(s) Display Storage Best for
Comu Action Pro $169.99; $159.99 with code DUPPLE Up to 70 hours 113 Unlimited real-time transcription and basic summaries (Starter, free) Premium $10.00/mo billed annually or $14.99 monthly; Elite $29.99/mo billed annually or $39.99 monthly OLED Not stated Turning meetings into follow-ups
Comulytic Note Pro $109.69; $99.69 with code DUPPLE Up to 45 hours 113 Unlimited real-time transcription and basic summaries (Starter, free) Premium $10.00/mo billed annually or $14.99 monthly; Elite $29.99/mo billed annually or $39.99 monthly 0.8 in, 128x80 16 GB local Value and fast capture
Pocket $129 (list $199) 4 days of active use (no hour figure) 120+ Unlimited standard-accuracy transcription (Free) Pro $19.99/mo billed yearly ($239.88/yr); Enterprise custom None (no screen) 64 GB onboard plus unlimited cloud The cheapest non-Comu device
PLAUD Note Pro $189 30 hours (Enhance), 50 hours (Endurance) 112+ 300 minutes a month (Starter, free) Pro $8.33/mo billed annually or $17.99 monthly (1,200 min); Unlimited $20.00/mo billed annually or $29.99 monthly AMOLED 64 GB Compliance-heavy teams

Prices and specs from each vendor's own pages, checked October 29, 2026; battery and languages are the vendors' claims.

Claimed recording time per charge: Comu Action Pro 70 hours, Comulytic Note Pro 45 hours, PLAUD Note Pro 50 hours in Endurance mode or 30 hours in Enhance mode, and Pocket with no hour figure (4 days of active use).
Battery claims by device. Pocket states days of active use, so its bar has no hour value.

1. Comu Action Pro, best for turning meetings into follow-ups

Our review unit of the Comu Action Pro recording on a desk.
Our review unit of the Comu Action Pro, recording on a desk (photo: Louis Corneloup, Dupple).
  • Price: $169.99 (list $256.99); use code DUPPLE for $10 off ($159.99)
  • Battery: up to 70 hours
  • Transcription: 113 languages + real-time translation (once a month on the free plan, unlimited on Premium)
  • Plan: Starter includes unlimited core transcription and basic summaries; Premium $10.00/mo billed annually ($14.99 monthly)
  • Hardware: OLED display, USB-C, six-mic array, magnetic attachment
  • Standout: "AI Workmate", a dedicated AI button for action items, follow-up emails, docs, presentation drafts, calendar events, and CRM notes, plus Conversation Context that links information across recordings
Comu app AI presentation templates
Inside the Comu app: pick an AI template and turn a recording into a finished deck.

Best for: people whose meetings end with follow-up work.

Pros

  • 70 hours of claimed recording, 25 more than the Note Pro.
  • Unlimited basic transcription, no subscription.
  • The AI button turns requests into decks and emails.

Cons

  • Starter caps real-time translation at once a month, in-depth analysis at 3 times a month, and AI-button work at 500 agent credits a month (5,000 on Premium).
  • Earbud call recording only arrives in December, and storage is not stated.
  • The back picks up fingerprints, as our review unit shows.

Our test: the Comu Action Pro in an in-person meeting

Louis Corneloup, Dupple's founder, used a review unit of the Comu Action Pro that Comu provided, in an in-person meeting. Our test: the device is very light and very thin, and he liked it a lot. The app is excellent, and the screen is good quality.

Side view of the Comu Action Pro held in a hand, showing how thin it is (our review unit).
Side view in hand: how thin the Comu Action Pro is (our review unit).

Taking the device out in a meeting does not feel odd. It comes across as professional and makes an impression. The one drawback he noted is that the back picks up fingerprints a little, and the photos on this page show the same marks on the back.

Close-up of the Comu Action Pro screen with its record and AI buttons, from our review unit.
Screen, record button and AI button on our review unit of the Comu Action Pro.
Get the Comu Action Pro$169.99 $159.99 with code DUPPLE

Code DUPPLE at checkout: $10 off (checked Oct 29, 2026)

Read our full Comu Action Pro review.

2. Comulytic Note Pro, best value for capture and summaries

Comu graphic of the Comulytic Note Pro: one-tap recording in hand, then the app steps from transcript and summary to a to-do and a follow-up email.
The Comulytic Note Pro and its app, from one-tap recording to a follow-up email (image: Comu).
  • Price: $109.69 (list $158.99); use code DUPPLE for $10 off ($99.69)
  • Battery: up to 45 hours (107 days of standby)
  • Transcription: 113 languages
  • Plan: Starter: unlimited AI transcription + basic summaries; Premium $14.99/mo ($10.00/mo annually); Elite $39.99/mo ($29.99/mo annually)
  • Focus: streamlined capture, transcription and summaries

Best for: people who mainly want fast, reliable capture and the lowest device price here.

Pros

  • The lowest device price here, with free unlimited real-time transcription.
  • 107 days of standby, and 27.6 g, lighter than the 52 g Pocket.
  • Premium adds unlimited translation, as on the Action Pro.

Cons

  • 16 GB of local storage, against 64 GB on PLAUD and Pocket.
  • 45 hours against the Action Pro's 70, and a 5 m pickup against 7 m.
Get the Comulytic Note Pro$109.69 $99.69 with code DUPPLE

Code DUPPLE at checkout: $10 off (checked Oct 29, 2026)

3. Pocket, the cheapest non-Comu pick

  • Price: $129 (list $199), or $99 with the subscription
  • Battery: "4 days of active use" (no hour figure)
  • Transcription: 120+ languages, unlimited standard transcription
  • Plan: basic AI features included; the full AI experience requires the Pro subscription, $19.99/month billed yearly
  • Storage: 64GB
  • Standout: single-press recording and natural-language search across past recordings

Best for: buyers who want the lowest non-Comu price and can live with the free plan's limits.

Pros

  • 120+ languages, with unlimited transcription on the free plan.
  • 64 GB onboard plus unlimited cloud storage, and a 15 m pickup range.
  • A contact mic captures phone calls without the speaker.

Cons

  • The free plan keeps summaries for 30 days and limits Ask Pocket to 3 chats a day.
  • Free transcription is standard accuracy; highest accuracy needs Pro.

4. PLAUD Note Pro, best for compliance-heavy teams

  • Price: $189 (Black and Silver, in stock on PLAUD's US store on October 30, 2026)
  • Battery: up to 50 hours in Endurance mode (30 hours in Enhance mode)
  • Transcription: 112+ languages
  • Plan: free tier 300 min/month; Pro $8.33/month billed annually or $17.99 monthly (1,200 min); Unlimited $20.00/month billed annually or $29.99 monthly
  • Hardware: AMOLED display, credit-card form factor, 64GB
  • Standout: 10,000+ AI summary templates and enterprise security (ISO 27001, GDPR, SOC 2, HIPAA)

Best for: teams that need certifications and a large template library, and can pay for a plan.

Pros

  • ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and EN 18031 listed on its page.
  • 10,000+ summary templates.
  • Detects phone calls and in-person talks; free Plaud Desktop covers online meetings without a bot.

Cons

  • The free plan stops at 300 minutes (about 5 hours) a month; Pro caps at 1,200.
  • Its battery claim, 30 to 50 hours, is below the Action Pro's 70.

Which AI note taker is cheapest after 1 and 2 years?

Take a heavy user with 20 hours of meetings a month, or 1,200 minutes. That is exactly the cap on PLAUD's Pro plan, so the cheapest plan that covers the month differs by device.

Dupple data: cost over 24 months, computed from vendor prices on October 29, 2026.

Cost of each device at 20 hours of meetings a month, with the cheapest plan that covers it and the no-cap plan, for 12 and 24 months (October 2026)
Device Device price Cheapest plan for 20 h a month 12 months 24 months No-cap plan (billed yearly) 12 months 24 months
Comu Action Pro $159.99 with DUPPLE Starter, free $159.99 $159.99 Premium, $120 a year $279.99 $399.99
Comulytic Note Pro $99.69 with DUPPLE Starter, free $99.69 $99.69 Premium, $120 a year $219.69 $339.69
Pocket $129.00 Free (standard accuracy) $129.00 $129.00 Pro, $239.88 a year $368.88 $608.76
PLAUD Note Pro $189.00 Pro, $99.99 a year ($8.33 a month) $288.99 $388.98 Unlimited, $239.99 a year ($20 a month) $428.99 $668.98
Bar chart of 24-month cost for a heavy user, for each device on its cheapest covering plan and on its no-cap plan, with the totals listed in the cost table above.
24-month totals for a heavy user, from the cost table above. Comu device prices include code DUPPLE.

The math, once: PLAUD Note Pro costs $189 + $99.99 x 2 = $388.98 over 24 months on Pro, billed yearly. A busier month needs Unlimited, which brings PLAUD to $668.98.

The free tiers leave things out: Comu's Starter has one translation a month, Pocket's free plan keeps summaries 30 days, and PLAUD's covers 5 of the 20 hours. Pocket's $99 bundle, with 30 days free and then $19.99 a month, comes to $99 + 23 x $19.99 = $558.77 over 24 months, still more than both Comu devices on Premium.

The Comulytic Note Pro is the cheapest device in every column. If the Action Pro's battery and follow-up features matter more, use code DUPPLE at checkout on the Comu Action Pro, which brings it to $159.99.

Comu Action Pro vs PLAUD Note Pro

PLAUD costs $189, against $169.99 for the Action Pro. The Action Pro claims up to 70 hours of battery against PLAUD's 30 to 50, and it has no monthly minute cap, while PLAUD's free plan stops at 300 minutes. PLAUD wins on certifications and lists connectors for Google Calendar, Slack, Notion, Linear and Zapier.

Comu Action Pro against PLAUD Note Pro on price, free plan and battery (October 2026)
Attribute Comu Action Pro PLAUD Note Pro
Price (Oct 2026) $169.99; $159.99 with code DUPPLE $189
Free plan Unlimited real-time transcription and basic summaries 300 minutes a month
Battery (claimed) Up to 70 hours 30 hours (Enhance), 50 hours (Endurance)

Verdict: Comu wins on price and battery, and PLAUD wins on certifications and integrations.

If price and battery decide it, use code DUPPLE at checkout on the Comu Action Pro.

Comu vs Pocket

Pocket costs $129 (list $199), and its free plan has no monthly fee, so it sits between the two Comu devices on price. Pocket claims more languages (120+ against 113) and more storage than the Note Pro (64 GB against 16 GB). The Comu devices give hour figures (70 and 45), while Pocket gives 4 days with no hours, so the battery claims cannot be compared line by line.

Both Comu devices against Pocket on price, free plan and battery (October 2026)
Attribute Comu Action Pro Comulytic Note Pro Pocket
Price (Oct 2026) $169.99; $159.99 with code DUPPLE $109.69; $99.69 with code DUPPLE $129 (list $199)
Free plan Unlimited real-time transcription and basic summaries Unlimited real-time transcription and basic summaries Unlimited standard-accuracy transcription, summaries kept 30 days
Battery (claimed) Up to 70 hours Up to 45 hours 4 days of active use (no hours)

Verdict: Pocket is the cheaper non-Comu option, but the Comulytic Note Pro is cheaper than both.

Comulytic Note Pro vs PLAUD Note Pro

The Note Pro is the cheaper device by a wide margin, and its Starter plan is unlimited for real-time transcription, where PLAUD's free plan stops at 300 minutes. PLAUD has four times the storage, 64 GB against 16 GB. Its battery claim is 50 hours in Endurance mode, longer than the Note Pro's 45, but only 30 hours in Enhance mode. PLAUD's edge is certifications and 10,000+ templates.

Comulytic Note Pro against PLAUD Note Pro on price, free plan and storage (October 2026)
Attribute Comulytic Note Pro PLAUD Note Pro
Price (Oct 2026) $109.69; $99.69 with code DUPPLE $189
Free plan Unlimited real-time transcription and basic summaries 300 minutes a month
Storage 16 GB local 64 GB

Verdict: the Note Pro for price and free transcription, PLAUD for certifications and storage.

Comu Action Pro vs Comulytic Note Pro: which Comu should you buy?

Both Comu devices transcribe 113 languages and share the same plan prices. The Action Pro costs $60.30 more, at the current store price and with code DUPPLE. For that you get a 70-hour battery claim and a 7 m pickup. The Note Pro gives you 45 hours and a 5 m pickup at the lower price.

Comu shows its recorder on meetings, interviews and phone calls (image: Comu).
Comu shows its recorder on meetings, interviews and phone calls (image: Comu).
Comu Action Pro against Comulytic Note Pro on price, battery and pickup range (October 2026)
Attribute Comu Action Pro Comulytic Note Pro
Price (Oct 2026) $169.99; $159.99 with code DUPPLE $109.69; $99.69 with code DUPPLE
Battery (claimed) Up to 70 hours Up to 45 hours
Pickup range 7 m 5 m (16.4 ft)

Verdict: buy the Action Pro if follow-up work and battery matter most, and the Note Pro if you want capture and summaries for less.

How to choose

If your goal is to get work done, not just remember what was said. This is where Comu Action Pro stands apart. Most recorders stop at a transcript and a summary; Comu positions itself as an "AI Workmate." Its dedicated AI button turns a recording into action items, a follow-up email, a document, or a presentation draft, and Conversation Context connects details across multiple recordings, so a decision made three meetings ago, a customer detail, or an unfinished task is easy to pull back up. For anyone in back-to-back meetings, the up-to-70-hour battery and unlimited core transcription on the Starter plan mean you can just leave it running.

Comu app generating a presentation from a recording
Ask Comu to turn a recording straight into a presentation deck.

If you work across languages. Comu Action Pro's 113-language transcription with real-time translation matters for global teams and multilingual calls. PLAUD (112+ languages) and Pocket (120+) transcribe broadly too, but real-time translation is Comu's differentiator. On Comu's free plan it runs once a month; Premium makes it unlimited.

If you want strong integrations with your existing work tools. PLAUD Note Pro stands out for its integrations with tools like Google Calendar, Slack, Notion, Linear, and Zapier, making it a good fit for users who rely heavily on virtual meetings and connected workflows. Its free Plaud Desktop app records online meetings without a bot joining the call, and its pricing page marks the connectors as Preview. The trade-off is cost: its basic plan includes only 300 minutes of transcription per month, and you'll need a higher-tier subscription for more usage and advanced AI features.

If you need enterprise-grade security. PLAUD Note Pro is the pick, with formal certifications (ISO 27001/27701, SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR) and a large template library for standardized outputs, useful in regulated industries.

If price is the priority. Pocket offers strong value at its lower price, with solid AI features for recording, transcription, and summaries. And while the basic AI features are included, unlocking the full experience (including unlimited Ask Pocket, highest-accuracy transcription, custom templates, Deep Research reports, and other advanced tools) requires a $19.99/month subscription, billed yearly. The Comulytic Note Pro costs less than Pocket at $109.69 and has no monthly fee for unlimited transcription.

If your meetings happen on Zoom or Google Meet. You may not need hardware at all: an app does the job, see our guides to AI meeting assistants, AI meeting summary tools, AI note-taking apps and AI transcription tools. For PLAUD's wider lineup, read our Plaud review.

Methodology

We compared the four devices on price, plan prices, claimed battery, languages, storage and free transcription, read on each vendor's own page on October 29, 2026 (see Sources). Battery and language counts are vendor claims. This guide is sponsored by Comu. Louis Corneloup used a Comu-provided Action Pro in an in-person meeting; the other devices were not tested hands-on. Prices are re-checked every 60 days.

FAQ

Is the Comu Action Pro worth it?

Yes, if your meetings end in follow-up work and you want the highest hour-based battery claim here, 70 hours. Translation on the free Starter plan is capped at once a month.

Comu vs PLAUD: which is better?

Comu wins on price and battery (up to 70 hours claimed against 30 to 50). PLAUD, at $189, wins on certifications and 10,000+ templates.

Does the Comulytic Note Pro need a subscription?

No. Its Starter plan is free, with unlimited real-time AI transcription and basic summaries. Premium costs $10.00 a month billed annually ($14.99 monthly) for unlimited translation and analysis.

Which AI note taker has no monthly fee?

Pocket, the Comu Action Pro and the Comulytic Note Pro all have free plans with no monthly fee. PLAUD's free plan is capped at 300 minutes a month.

Which AI note taker is best for privacy and security?

PLAUD Note Pro lists ISO 27001, ISO 27701, SOC 2, HIPAA, GDPR and EN 18031. The Comu Action Pro page lists SOC II, GDPR and HIPAA. Pocket lists encryption and an Enterprise tier, but no ISO or SOC certification.

Can these AI note takers record phone calls?

Yes. PLAUD Note Pro detects phone calls and in-person talks, Pocket's contact mic captures calls without the speaker, and the Comu Action Pro's page lists phone call recording, with earbud and headset calls due in December.

Which AI note taker works in the most languages?

Pocket claims the most, 120+ languages. The Comu Action Pro and the Comulytic Note Pro list 113, and PLAUD lists 112+. These are vendor claims.

Is there a Comu discount code?

Yes. Code DUPPLE takes $10 off both the Comu Action Pro and the Comulytic Note Pro, as checked in Comu's store cart on October 29, 2026. Enter it at checkout on the Comu Action Pro or Note Pro page.

The bottom line

All four are capable recorders. The real question is how far you want the device to go after the conversation ends. If you want a recorder, Pocket and PLAUD do the job well at different price points. If you want something that turns conversations into finished work (follow-ups, documents, action items) with the 70-hour battery claim and real-time translation on the list, Comu Action Pro is built for exactly that.

Ready to try it? Get the Comu Action Pro and use code DUPPLE for $10 off.

Get Comu Action Pro$169.99 $159.99 with code DUPPLE

Code DUPPLE at checkout: $10 off (checked Oct 29, 2026)

Explore the full Comu range: Comu Action Pro · Comulytic Note Pro · Comu store.

Sources

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime

Want to do this faster with AI?

These guides cover the AI tools and workflows that save hours on writing, studying, and research.

Or browse Toolradar for 9,000+ AI tools across 400+ categories with verified pricing.

Related Articles
Oct 30, 2026

Comu Action Pro Review 2026: Is It Worth the Price?

Price, free-plan limits, a 12 and 24 month cost table, and how the Comu Action Pro compares with the Comulytic Note Pro, PLAUD Note Pro and Pocket.

Oct 27, 2026

How AI agents replace manual collections in B2B Finance

AI collections agents read customer replies, adapt tone and resolve W9 and PO requests in the thread. Here is how they differ from rules-based dunning and how to evaluate one.

Oct 5, 2026

Edgeful review

An edgeful review for 2026: 150+ trading reports, edgeful AI, custom reports, 7 automated algos, the API, and what each plan costs.