Is Suno Free in 2026? Free Plan Limits, Download Cap and 7 Alternatives

Trusted by770,000+ Techpresso subscribers·Editorial policy·How we make money

Short answer: yes, Suno is free, but downloads are the catch. Free accounts that joined before September 3, 2026 get 7 downloads for life, and no free song is cleared for commercial use. The free plan renews 50 credits a day, about 10 songs, and every song stays playable and shareable by link. For a creator who needs 10 cleared tracks a month, the cheapest paid route here is ElevenLabs Starter at $5/month billed yearly, then Suno Pro at $8/month billed yearly. Prices were read on vendor pages on October 10, 2026.

The download cap is the part older Suno guides miss. Suno announced it on August 10, 2026 and applied it on September 3 to every song in a library, including songs made before that date. So the useful question is no longer whether Suno is free, but what a free account lets you take away and where you may legally use it. This page answers that for Suno and seven rivals.

Quick comparison

Service Free allowance Free downloads Commercial rights on free Cheapest plan with commercial rights
Suno 50 credits a day (about 10 songs), 4 at once 7 for life, personal use only No Pro, $8/mo billed yearly
Mubert 25 tracks a month, fixed length 5 a month, MP3 No Pro, $32.49/mo billed yearly
AIVA Tracks up to 3 minutes 3 a month, MP3 and MIDI, credit AIVA No Standard, EUR 11/mo billed yearly (four platforms only)
Soundful Unlimited generations, 25+ styles 1 a month, MP3 No Plus (price not on its pricing page)
Google Gemini Tracks up to 3 minutes, limits apply Download or share, no count published Not stated Not stated
ElevenLabs 10,000 credits a month, about 11 minutes of music Not stated Not listed Starter, $5/mo billed yearly
Udio 10 credits a day plus 100 a month, 3 songs of 130 seconds a day None, downloads are off Not listed Downloads disabled on every plan
Soundraw No free plan listed None listed Not applicable Creator, $11.04/mo billed yearly

Dupple data: Toolradar evaluated 42 music production tools as of October 2026, and 26 of them have a free plan. Its music production ranking shows 5 of its 10 top picks with a free plan. In the AI music table above, 5 of 8 services document a download for free accounts, and none of the 8 states a commercial-use right for free accounts.

What did Suno change on September 3, 2026?

Suno capped downloads, not creation. A free account that joined before September 3 gets up to 7 trial downloads for life, for personal use only. Accounts that joined on or after that date may occasionally receive trial downloads and can buy more, so a brand-new free account has no guaranteed export at all.

Paid plans get a monthly pool instead: 20 downloads on Pro and 60 on Premier, reset on your billing date with no rollover. Downloading the same song again, in another format, or with its stems counts as one download. Suno Studio workflows sit outside the limit, and extra downloads can be bought, though the help pages do not publish a price.

Streaming and sharing did not change. Every song in a library stays playable and linkable on every plan, free included. For a hobbyist who mostly listens and shares links, the cap changes little. For anyone who exports a few songs a week, it turns Pro into the entry ticket.

1

Suno: about 10 songs a day, the tightest exit

Suno's free plan renews 50 credits every day, enough for about 10 songs, on the v6-mini model with 4 songs generating at once in a shared queue. The free plan has no stems. Pro raises that to 2,500 credits a month, adds the v6 and v6-wild models and runs 10 songs at once. It costs $8/month billed yearly ($96 a year, or $10 a month if billed monthly). Premier is $24/month billed yearly ($288 a year) for 10,000 credits, 60 downloads and Suno Studio.

The catch is ownership. On the free plan Suno owns the songs and you may use them for non-commercial purposes only. Pro and Premier subscribers own songs made while subscribed, but Suno's help center says music made entirely by AI would not qualify for copyright protection, so check a distributor's rules before you release anything.

Watch out: Suno's help center does not say whether a free-tier song becomes yours after an upgrade, so regenerate a favorite on Pro if you need to own it.

Verdict

the best place to find out whether AI songs with vocals work for you, and a poor place to stockpile files for free. Our Suno vs Udio comparison covers the head-to-head, and the Suno pricing page on Toolradar is a second place to check plans.

2

Mubert: 5 free downloads a month, the largest monthly allowance

Mubert's free Ambassador plan gives 25 tracks and 5 MP3 downloads a month at a fixed length, for non-commercial use. That makes it the free tier that lets you take the most files out each month, because Suno's 7 are gone for good once spent. Its paid Creator plan ($14/month, or $11.69/month billed annually) is also non-commercial, which surprises people: commercial rights start at Pro, $39/month or $32.49/month billed annually.

The catch: even Pro tracks cannot go on streaming platforms or be registered in Content ID. Those limits make Mubert a poor fit for songs you plan to release. Details on Toolradar's Mubert page.

3

AIVA's free plan allows 3 downloads a month of tracks up to 3 minutes, in MP3 and MIDI. You must credit AIVA, you may not monetize, and AIVA owns the copyright. That rules it out for anything commercial, but it suits personal projects where a credit line is fine.

Standard costs EUR 11 a month billed yearly and allows monetization only on YouTube, Twitch, TikTok and Instagram, with the copyright still AIVA's. Full ownership and full monetization start at Pro, EUR 33 a month billed yearly for 300 downloads. AIVA lists euros only, so those prices are not converted here.

4

Soundful: unlimited generations, one download a month

Soundful lets a free account generate without limit from 25+ styles, but allows only 1 MP3 download a month under a personal license. Its own FAQ says tracks made on the standard plan cannot be used commercially.

The paid Plus plan raises that to 100 MP3 and WAV downloads a month and Pro to 400, but the pricing page shows plan features without dollar amounts, so I cannot tell you what the step up costs. Its FAQ also lists a higher Plus download count than the pricing card, so confirm the figure before you plan around it. Check Soundful's pricing for the current figures, and see Toolradar's Soundful listing for context.

5

Google Gemini: free, watermarked and unquantified

Gemini's Lyria 3.5 model makes tracks up to 3 minutes from a text prompt or a photo, with custom cover art, and you can download or share the result. Anyone aged 18 or over in a country where the Gemini app runs can use it.

The catch is what Google leaves out. The music page says only that limits apply. It publishes no daily track count for free users and no commercial-use rule. Google's launch post adds that AI Plus, Pro and Ultra subscribers get higher limits. Every track also carries a SynthID watermark that identifies it as Google AI audio. Treat it as a free sketchpad, not a licensed source.

6

ElevenLabs: free credits that buy about 11 minutes

ElevenLabs lists music among the features of its free plan, which includes 10,000 credits a month shared across every product. Its pricing page puts Eleven Music at 900 credits a minute, so spending the whole allowance on music buys about 11 minutes, and free credits do not roll over. The free plan's feature list does not mention a commercial license, which Starter adds.

Starter adds the commercial license and music commercial use with 30,000 credits a month, about 33 minutes of music, for $6/month or $5/month billed yearly ($60 a year). The $1 first month on Starter is a promotion that runs until October 18. If you also need voiceover, our ElevenLabs pricing breakdown and ElevenLabs alternatives show where else those credits go.

7

Udio: free to make, impossible to download

Udio's free plan gives 10 credits a day plus a 100-credit monthly limit, with no more than three 130-second songs a day. That is a fair allowance, but Udio's help center says downloading audio, video and stems is disabled, following its October 29, 2025 partnership with Universal Music Group. Songs can still be shared through udio.com links.

So no Udio plan solves a publishing problem today. Standard allows up to 2,400 credits a month and Pro 6,000, which buys more creation but not export. Watch the trial: Udio gives one 7-day Standard trial per creator, and unless you cancel or choose monthly billing, it charges the annual fee at the end, plus tax. See Toolradar's Udio pricing.

8

Soundraw: no free plan, but unlimited MP3 downloads on Creator

Soundraw's pricing page lists paid plans only. Creator costs $16.99/month, or $11.04/month billed annually, with unlimited MP3 downloads and commercial use. Tracks you make while subscribed stay licensed for life, even if you cancel.

The Artist plans add more downloads and formats: Starter at $29.99/month ($19.49 billed annually) for 10 downloads a month, or Pro at $35.99/month ($23.39 billed annually) for 20 downloads, including WAV and stems. The Toolradar Soundraw page lists reviews.

What does a year of publishable AI music cost?

The scenario is a solo creator who needs 10 finished, commercially cleared tracks a month for a year. I priced the cheapest plan that grants commercial rights and covers that volume, using the yearly rate where a vendor offers one and 12 times the monthly price where it does not.

Service Plan Billed yearly Billed monthly Covers 10 tracks a month?
ElevenLabs Starter $60 $72 Yes, 30,000 credits is about 33 minutes
Suno Pro $96 $120 Yes, 20 downloads a month
Soundraw Creator $132.48 $203.88 Yes, unlimited MP3 downloads
Mubert Pro $389.88 $468 Yes, 500 tracks and unlimited downloads
AIVA Pro EUR 396 Not compared Yes, 300 downloads (priced in euros)
Udio None Not possible Not possible No, downloads are disabled

The arithmetic is $5 x 12 = $60 for ElevenLabs if billed yearly, $8 x 12 = $96 for Suno, $11.04 x 12 = $132.48 for Soundraw and $32.49 x 12 = $389.88 for Mubert. Gemini and Soundful are left out because Google does not state commercial rights and Soundful does not show a price. AIVA Standard is cheaper at EUR 11 a month, but AIVA keeps the copyright and the plan covers four platforms only, so the scenario uses Pro.

The ranking flips with volume. Suno's 20 downloads a month become the binding limit past 20 tracks, where you would pay for extra downloads at an unpublished price, while Soundraw's unlimited downloads stay at $132.48. ElevenLabs runs out near 33 minutes of music a month because one credit pool serves every product on the plan. For more on stretching a creator budget, see our creator AI stack and AI tool discounts.

What does free AI music really cost you?

  • Rights, not credits, are the real price. None of the eight services states a commercial-use right on a free account, so do not put a free track behind an ad, a client video or a monetized channel.
  • Suno's 7 downloads never refill. Once they are spent, a song stays playable and shareable by link, but exporting it means buying extra downloads.
  • Udio's trial bills the annual fee. Forgetting to cancel the 7-day trial charges the annual fee plus tax.
  • ElevenLabs credits are shared. Spending the free allowance on music leaves little for voiceover that month.
  • Mubert Pro is not a release license. Streaming platforms and Content ID registration are excluded.
  • AIVA Standard keeps the copyright with AIVA and covers four platforms only, at EUR 11 a month billed yearly.
  • Gemini tracks carry a SynthID watermark and Google gives no quota, so a project with a fixed track count has no published limit to plan around.

How to choose

  • You want to experiment with full songs: Suno's free plan, with the 7-download limit in mind. Our free AI music generator guide lists more starting points.
  • You need a file every month for personal use: Mubert gives 5 downloads a month, AIVA 3 and Soundful 1.
  • You need cleared background music at the lowest cost: ElevenLabs Starter or Soundraw Creator, depending on whether you also use voice.
  • You want songs with vocals you can publish: Suno Pro, then check your distributor's rules on AI music.
  • You are scoring a video: pair a music tool with our AI video generators and audio editing software.
  • You want narration instead of music: see AI text to speech and free AI voice generators.

For a ranked list of AI music generators, read our best AI music generators. For the category as a whole, see the Toolradar guide to AI music generators, and our Academy review asks whether Suno is worth paying for.

Methodology

I read the pricing, help-center or product pages of eight services on October 10, 2026: Suno, Suno downloads, Suno rights, Udio credits, Udio downloads, ElevenLabs, Gemini music, Mubert, Soundraw, AIVA and Soundful. Prices are in US dollars except AIVA, which lists euros only. Where a vendor publishes no figure, such as Gemini's free quota, the page says so. Re-checked every 60 days, the cadence we use for cost pages, because download and rights rules in this category keep changing.

FAQ

Is Suno free in 2026?

Yes. Suno's free plan costs $0, renews 50 credits a day (about 10 songs) and uses the v6-mini model. Since September 3, 2026, accounts that joined before that date get up to 7 lifetime trial downloads, for personal use only, with no commercial rights.

How many songs can you make on Suno for free?

About 10 songs a day, because the 50 daily credits renew every day. You can have 4 songs generating at once in a shared queue, and every song stays playable and shareable by link.

Can you download songs from Suno for free?

Only a few. Free accounts that joined before September 3, 2026 get up to 7 trial downloads for life. Newer free accounts may occasionally receive trial downloads. Pro gives 20 downloads a month and Premier 60.

Can you use free Suno songs commercially?

No. On the free plan Suno owns the songs and you may use them only for non-commercial purposes, and trial downloads are not eligible for commercial use. Pro and Premier subscribers own songs made while subscribed.

How much does Suno Pro cost?

Suno Pro is $96 a year billed yearly, or $10 a month billed monthly. It includes 2,500 credits, 20 downloads a month and commercial rights for songs made while subscribed. Premier is $24/month billed yearly.

Is there a free AI music generator with commercial rights?

None of the eight services compared here states commercial rights for free accounts. For 10 tracks a month, the cheapest paid route is ElevenLabs Starter at $60 a year, with Suno Pro next.

Does Udio let you download songs?

No. Udio's help center says downloading audio, video and stems is disabled, following its October 29, 2025 partnership with Universal Music Group. You can create songs on the free plan and share them through udio.com links, but downloads are disabled on every plan.

What is the best free alternative to Suno?

Mubert if you want a few files each month, with 5 free MP3 downloads. AIVA if you want to try a free tier for personal projects, with 3 downloads a month. Neither includes commercial rights.

Cite this: Dupple, "Is Suno Free in 2026? Free Plan Limits, Download Cap and 7 Alternatives", October 2026.

If you only need to hear whether AI music fits your project, start on Suno's free plan. Once you need files you can publish, budget for the yearly price of ElevenLabs Starter or Suno Pro. Start your free 14-day Dupple X trial →

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Dupple pricing data · Content Creation
23tools we price
$15median per month
$9 to $24middle half
$5 to $99full range

Across our whole catalogue the median is $24 a month and 33% of tools advertise a free tier. Figures are the lowest recurring monthly price quoted in our own review of each tool, read on 2026-08-19. Full method and every category.

Tools mentioned in this guide
Related Articles
Blog Post

Best Free AI Music Generators in 2026

The best free AI music generators in 2026. Suno gives 50 daily credits with no commercial use, Soundraw lets you generate free and charges to download. What free means here.

Blog Post

8 Best AI Assistants in 2026 (Compared)

The 8 best AI assistants in 2026, compared side by side. ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot with honest takes and real pricing.

Blog Post

The Best AI Chatbots in 2026 (Compared and Ranked)

I compared the best AI chatbots of 2026: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Grok and more. Real pricing, honest trade-offs, and which one to pick.

Blog Post

8 Best AI for iPhone in 2026 (Compared)

The 8 best AI for iPhone in 2026, compared. Apple Intelligence, ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity with honest takes on what works on mobile.

Blog Post

10 Best AI Tools for Trip Planning in 2026 (Compared and Ranked)

The 10 best AI trip planning tools in 2026, compared and ranked. Kayak AI, Layla AI, Google Gemini, ChatGPT, and more with real pricing and honest reviews.

Blog Post

9 Best ChatGPT Alternatives in 2026 (Compared)

9 ChatGPT alternatives compared for 2026: Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Copilot, DeepSeek, Grok, Mistral, Meta AI, and Poe, compared on price and real strengths.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime