Best Free AI Voice Changers in 2026: Limits Compared
Short answer: Voicemod's free download is the simplest pick for real-time voice on a PC, and ElevenLabs' free plan (10,000 credits a month at $0) is the easiest place to test a voice on a recording. Before you publish anything made on a free plan, check its commercial rights. Speechify's free plan grants none, and Voice.ai lists its commercial license only from its first paid plan up.
Most free voice changers are demos with a meter attached. Cloud tools count credits or minutes, and installed apps hold features back for a paid version. Which one fits depends on whether you need live voice or a finished file, and on what the free plan lets you use in public.
Dupple data: On the vendor pricing and product pages we checked on 10 October 2026, 4 of the 8 free options below cap usage in credits or minutes. The other 4 are software you install, and their pages state no usage cap.
Methodology: how we checked
We read each tool's own pricing or product page on 10 October 2026, then recorded the free allowance, the cheapest paid entry and the commercial-use terms. We did not run the tools, and we did not take prices from review sites. Where a vendor page leaves a term out, the table says so, and you should confirm it before you rely on a free plan. The order follows the job each tool does best.
Sources, all read on 10 October 2026: ElevenLabs pricing, Speechify Studio pricing, Voice.ai pricing, Kits.ai pricing and Screaming Bee's MorphVOX Junior page. The Voicemod and MorphVOX Pro checks come from the vendors' own product pages, and the open-source checks come from the projects' license files.
Free voice changers at a glance
| Tool | Best for | Free plan | Commercial use on free | Cheapest paid entry |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Voicemod | Real-time voice on a PC | Free download, 200+ voices, no usage cap stated | Not addressed | No plan price on Voicemod's pages |
| ElevenLabs Voice Changer | Recorded files up to 50 MB | 10,000 credits a month, shared across products | Not clear in the pricing table | From $5 a month, billed yearly |
| Speechify Studio | Voiceovers from one credit pool | 600 credits | No | Studio Starter, $100 a year |
| Voice.ai | Short online conversions | 5,000 credits a month | Not listed on Free | Starter, $5 a month |
| Kits.ai | Singing and voice swaps | 15 conversion minutes a month | Not stated on the pricing page | Starter, $10 a month |
| MorphVOX Junior | Simple effects on your PC | Free, 3 voice types | Not shown | Pro, $39.99 on the vendor page |
| VCClient (w-okada) | Real-time voice, open source | Free under the MIT license | Check each voice model's terms | None, you run it on your hardware |
| RVC WebUI | Training your own voice model | Free under the MIT license | Check the voice model's terms | None, you run it on your hardware |
Voicemod: the simplest free option for live voice
Voicemod is the simplest pick here for live use. Its page describes a free real-time voice changer for PC and Mac, with more than 200 voices, a soundboard, a voice-building tool called Voicelab, noise suppression and keybinds. The page does not say which of those features need a paid plan, and it states no usage cap on the free version.
The catch is the paid side. Voicemod's pages list no plan price, so check the current figure on voicemod.net before you buy. The page also does not address commercial use, so a clip made with the free download needs the same license check as any free tool on this list. For cleanup after recording, see our audio enhancement tools guide.
ElevenLabs Voice Changer: the free plan for testing on a recording
The ElevenLabs Voice Changer converts a recorded or uploaded clip into one of its voices, and its page accepts audio or video files up to 50 MB each. The free plan gives 10,000 credits a month. Those credits are shared across every ElevenLabs product, so a voice change draws on the same pool as text to speech.
The paid side starts at the Starter tier when billed yearly, according to the pricing FAQ. The voice-changer page lists extra minutes at about $0.17 to $0.36 across its paid tiers, without a clear mapping to each plan. The commercial-use row in the pricing table does not clearly say which plans it covers, so do not assume the free plan is licensed for publishing.
For a one-off clip, the free plan is the cleanest first test on this list. For anything you will publish, confirm the license on your plan first.
Speechify Studio: 600 free credits and no commercial rights
Speechify Studio's pricing page lists a free plan with 600 Studio credits, and it marks the Voice Changer as included on that plan. The same table states "No commercial usage rights" for Free.
The allowance is small. Speechify's FAQ charges one credit per second of voiceover, so that allowance covers about 10 minutes. Studio Starter costs $100 a year for 86,400 credits and adds commercial usage rights. Spread over twelve months, that is about $8.33 a month, a reasonable price for a steady flow of voiceovers and a poor one for a single clip. If you need text to speech rather than conversion, compare text to speech tools.
Voice.ai: small conversions on 5,000 credits a month
Voice.ai's free plan gives 5,000 credits a month, and its pricing table lists an online voice changer. The limits are tight. Free allows 500 characters per conversion, and audio tools are capped at 5 minutes per conversion. The page says the credits cover either 5 minutes of text to speech or 3 audio-tool uses.
The commercial license is not listed on Free. It starts with the Starter plan, which adds 15,000 credits and a 10-minute limit per audio conversion. At the monthly rate, Starter is $60 a year.
Kits.ai: 15 free conversion minutes, then $10 a month
Kits.ai's free plan gives 15 conversion minutes a month. The pricing card also lists 0 download minutes for Free, so confirm that you can export a converted file before you build a workflow on the free plan.
Starter is $10 a month for unlimited conversions, 2 voice slots and 15 download minutes. Producer is $30 a month, with unlimited voice slots and 60 download minutes. Professional is $60 a month, with unlimited download minutes subject to fair use. The pricing page does not state commercial rights on any plan, so ask before you use the output in paid work.
MorphVOX Junior: free and simple, with three voice types
Screaming Bee lists MorphVOX Junior as free. Its product page shows three built-in voice types, man, woman and "little folk," plus a set of sound effects. It does not show a watermark or time limit for Junior, and it does not list operating systems for the free version.
The paid version, MorphVOX Pro, is listed at $39.99 USD on the same vendor's page, with a free trial on Windows. The page does not say how long the trial runs or whether the $39.99 is a one-time payment or a recurring charge, so read the checkout before you buy. Junior is the right choice for a few quick effects. It is not a full voice library.
VCClient: open source and real-time, with setup work
VCClient, from the w-okada project, is real-time voice conversion software. Its repository is under the MIT license, which permits free use and modification. It runs on Windows, on Mac (M1) and on Linux, and the Linux route means cloning the repository. Its Windows CUDA build supports RVC and Beatrice voice models, and CUDA builds target NVIDIA graphics cards.
The cost is your hardware and your time. Nothing meters your output, but the setup is a technical job, and you need a machine that can run the models at a usable speed. Check each voice model's own terms before you publish output, because the software license does not settle that question.
RVC WebUI: free voice model training for technical users
RVC (Retrieval-based Voice Conversion WebUI) is MIT licensed and free to use. It converts a recording of one speaker so that it sounds like a voice you have trained, and it includes a real-time voice-changing interface. The project lists Windows and Ubuntu, Python 3.12 and NVIDIA CUDA builds, with a 12.8 build for RTX 50-series cards and an 11.8 build for older NVIDIA cards. CPU, AMD and Intel setups are covered by a separate requirements file.
RVC is a toolkit, not a product. You prepare the training audio, train a model and then convert. Our how-to on training an AI voice model walks through the training side. Training on someone else's voice needs their permission, and the free license does not change that. If you would rather pay for a hosted clone than train a model, compare the options in our best AI voice cloning tools, and for the full cloning steps see how to create an AI voice.
What the free tiers really limit
Cloud tools meter you. Speechify and Voice.ai give you a credit pool that a few long clips can empty, and Kits.ai caps conversion minutes. ElevenLabs shares its credits across every product it sells. Installed software has no credit meter on your output, but it limits you on voice count, features or setup time.
The units differ, so compare them carefully. Voice.ai's 5,000 credits are more than eight times Speechify's free allowance, but Voice.ai's free plan also caps each conversion at 500 characters. The number that decides whether a free plan fits your job is often the per-conversion limit, not the monthly total.
Paid entry prices also vary widely. Voice.ai Starter is $5 a month, Kits.ai Starter costs about twice that, and Speechify Studio Starter bills $100 a year. Billing periods differ, so check each price against its period. Voice.ai's Starter, for instance, works out to $60 a year at the monthly rate.
How to choose
- For real-time voice on your PC: Voicemod's free download is the simplest start. If you only need a few effects, MorphVOX Junior is enough.
- For a recording you want to test: ElevenLabs' free plan, then read the commercial terms before anything goes public.
- For voiceovers you publish every week: a paid plan with commercial rights. Speechify Studio Starter suits voiceover work, and Voice.ai Starter suits short conversions. For paid platforms beyond these, see ElevenLabs alternatives.
- For full control without a meter: VCClient or RVC, if you can handle the setup and you have the hardware.
Common mistakes
- Publishing a free-plan clip. Speechify's free plan has no commercial usage rights, and Voice.ai's commercial license starts at its Starter plan.
- Reading credits as minutes. Speechify's free credits last about 10 minutes of voiceover at its FAQ rate, so one long script can use the whole allowance.
- Assuming a free export. Kits.ai's free card lists 0 download minutes, so check the export before you plan around the free plan.
- Buying a year for one clip. Speechify Studio Starter bills yearly, which works out to about $8.33 a month and is a poor fit for a single project.
- Treating open source as a free pass. The MIT license lets you use the software, but a model trained on someone else's recordings still needs that person's permission.
FAQ
What is the best free AI voice changer in 2026?
For live voice, Voicemod's free download is the simplest start, since its page states no usage cap on the free version. For a recording you want to test, ElevenLabs' free plan gives 10,000 credits a month at $0. Check commercial rights before you publish either one.
Is there a free real-time voice changer?
Voicemod's free download and MorphVOX Junior run as software on your own computer. VCClient and RVC are free MIT-licensed options with real-time features, but you need to set them up yourself. The cloud tools here describe converting recorded or uploaded audio, and their pages do not describe live voice. For real-time voice inside a phone or agent product, see our best AI voice agents.
Can I use free AI voice changer output commercially?
Usually the pages do not make it clear. Speechify's free plan states no commercial usage rights, and Voice.ai does not list a commercial license on Free. ElevenLabs' pricing table has a commercial row that does not clearly cover the free plan, and Kits.ai does not state commercial rights on its pricing page.
How much does an AI voice changer cost?
The entry prices on vendor pages are Voice.ai Starter at $5 a month, Kits.ai Starter at $10 a month, Speechify Studio Starter at $100 a year, and MorphVOX Pro at $39.99 on the vendor page. ElevenLabs' paid plans start at its Starter tier when billed yearly. Prices change, so check each vendor page before you buy. For a paid ranking of voice generators, see best AI voice generators.
Is it legal to change my voice into someone else's?
Converting your own voice is straightforward. Converting into another person's voice needs that person's permission, and a free license on the software does not replace it. Local law varies, so treat consent as the rule to follow.
Are open-source voice changers really free?
MIT-licensed projects such as VCClient and RVC are free to use, modify and redistribute under the license terms. The real cost is your hardware and setup time, and the Windows CUDA builds are made for NVIDIA graphics cards.
Bottom line
Pick the free tool that matches the job. Voicemod suits live voice, ElevenLabs suits a recording you want to test, and an open-source setup suits you if you have the hardware and the time. Before a clip goes into a video, a podcast or a client deliverable, read the license of the plan you are on. A free allowance is for testing, and the paid plan with commercial rights is what you buy once the voice goes public.
Related: how to train an AI voice model covers the RVC workflow, ElevenLabs alternatives compares paid voice platforms, and best free AI voice generators covers the text-to-speech free tiers. For the same topic from a software-buyer angle, see Toolradar's guide to AI voice changers.
Cite this: Dupple, "Best Free AI Voice Changers in 2026," checked 10 October 2026.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.
Across our whole catalogue the median is $24 a month and 33% of tools advertise a free tier. Figures are the lowest recurring monthly price quoted in our own review of each tool, read on 2026-08-19. Full method and every category.