Best Free AI Courses With Certificates in 2026
Key facts7 courses compared: Agents Course, Claude 101, Google AI Essentials, Artificial Intelligence…
- 7 courses compared: Agents Course, Claude 101, Google AI Essentials, Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals, An Introduction to AI, Machine Learning with Python, Professional Certificates
- Agents Course (best for: Developers building AI agents): Certificate of completion after Unit 1, one use-case assignment and the final challenge
- Claude 101 (best for: Anyone whose work runs on Claude): Certificate of completion, Skilljar account only
- Google AI Essentials (best for: Non-technical staff): Certificate on completion, no learning credits needed
- Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals (best for: Beginners who want a shareable badge): Digital badge, claimed through Credly
Short answer: Hugging Face's Agents Course and Anthropic's Claude 101 each give a certificate of completion at no cost. IBM SkillsBuild's Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals gives a free digital badge after 10 or more hours of study. Elements of AI is free to take, but the certificate it promotes comes from a separate product.
Most "free AI course" pages blur two things: a free course and a free credential. They are different products, and the gap between them is where people end up paying. Below, each course is checked against the provider's own pages, and only what those pages state is kept.
Dupple data: of the seven providers we checked on their own pages on 10 October 2026, four issue a certificate or badge at no cost, two route theirs through a separate product or membership, and one does not state a certificate fee on its pages.
| Course | Provider | Time to finish | What you get at no cost | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agents Course | Hugging Face | Several units, ending in a final challenge | Certificate of completion after Unit 1, one use-case assignment and the final challenge | Developers building AI agents |
| Claude 101 | Anthropic, on Skilljar | 14 sections | Certificate of completion, Skilljar account only | Anyone whose work runs on Claude |
| Google AI Essentials | Google Skills | Not stated on the page we read | Certificate on completion, no learning credits needed | Non-technical staff |
| Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals | IBM SkillsBuild | 10+ hours | Digital badge, claimed through Credly | Beginners who want a shareable badge |
| An Introduction to AI | Elements of AI | Self-paced | Free course, but its certificate is a separate MinnaLearn offer | Complete beginners who do not need a certificate |
| Machine Learning with Python | freeCodeCamp | Five required projects | Certification after the projects, with no fee stated | People who learn by building |
| Professional Certificates | DeepLearning.AI | Varies by course | Certificates only while a membership is active | Learners already paying for a membership |
Methodology: how we checked
We read each provider's own course, badge or membership page on 10 October 2026 and counted only what those pages state. Where a page showed no price that day, the price is left out.
Read "free" in three parts
A listing that says "free" can mean three different things, and buyers mix them up all the time.
First, a free course is not the same as a free certificate. Elements of AI shows the split most clearly: the course is free, and its certificate is offered through a separate product with its own terms.
Second, a certificate, a badge and a completion record are not the same output. Anthropic's Academy catalogue lists 27 courses, and many of them show a completion badge instead. Claude 101 names a certificate of completion in its curriculum, which is the clearer signal.
Third, time is the cost you pay in full. The Agents Course asks for assignments and a final challenge. IBM's badge takes 10 or more hours. Google's shorter Introduction to Generative AI course takes 45 minutes, and its page invites learners to earn a badge, so it works as a quick first step.
Agents Course (Hugging Face): a free certificate that takes real work
Cost: $0, per the course's certification terms.
Hugging Face describes its certification process as "completely free" on the Agents Course introduction page. You can follow the course in audit mode without a certificate, or complete the activities and claim one. The certificate of completion asks for Unit 1, one of the use-case assignments and the final challenge. A fundamentals certificate needs only Unit 1, and the course positions it for people who want to keep up with agent trends.
The completion certificate follows finished work, which is why it is the strongest free credential here for people who build with models. You need a free Hugging Face account to push and load models and create Spaces, so budget the setup time too. If you only want to read about agents, the fundamentals certificate is the cheaper detour. For a hands-on follow-up on training a model, see how to train an AI chatbot.
the best free certificate in this list if you write code or run models. Skip it if your goal is a general AI literacy badge.
Claude 101 (Anthropic): the easiest free start
Cost: $0. The registration button reads FREE, and the page names no subscription, credit card or API key.
Anthropic's Academy describes itself as offering "free courses, tutorials, and use cases from Anthropic's education team." Claude 101 sits on Skilljar. The course has 14 sections, and its curriculum includes a "Certificate of completion". You need only a Skilljar account to take it.
The catalogue is less tidy than the course page. The Academy lists 27 courses, and many of them show a completion badge rather than a certificate. Open each course's own page before you assume a certificate comes with it.
If you plan to build with Claude after the course, the best Claude Code skills is the next read.
start here if your work already runs through Claude. Fourteen sections is a realistic first commitment, and the page names no paid tier for its certificate.
Google AI Essentials (Google Skills): a Google certificate with no credit cost
Cost: no learning credits needed, according to Google's training blog.
Google's Cloud training blog lists Google AI Essentials among its no-cost courses, noting it needs no learning credits and "earns a certificate on completion." The same post describes the no-cost Google Developer Program, which gives 35 learning credits every month. The course needs none of them.
For non-technical staff, this is the most direct route to a Google certificate. If you want something quicker, Google's Introduction to Generative AI course on Google Skills takes 45 minutes, and its page invites you to earn a badge. It is a sensible warm-up before the longer course.
Two cautions. The blog post is our source for the certificate terms, and Google's course pages change, so confirm the certificate on Google Skills before you enroll. Third-party platforms also list courses under the same name, so check which site you are on before you start.
the pick for managers and non-technical staff who want a certificate from a large, recognizable name, on a course the provider lists as no-cost.
Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals (IBM SkillsBuild): a shareable badge with a stated time
Cost: $0, per SkillsBuild's "100% free and online" wording.
SkillsBuild's homepage describes its learning as "100% free and online", with industry-recognized credentials. Its Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals credential takes 10 or more hours, according to its credentials page. You earn a digital badge, and you claim it through Credly after creating an account there.
The badge is the easiest of these to show on a profile, and the stated time is the easiest to plan around. The trade-off is the extra account: Credly is a third-party platform, so you need it on top of your SkillsBuild login.
the best pick for beginners who want something to post on a profile, and who can set aside 10 or more hours.
An Introduction to AI (Elements of AI): a free course, a separate certificate
Course cost: $0. Certificate: a separate MinnaLearn product, with no price on the course page.
Elements of AI calls its "An Introduction to AI" a free online course, and you complete it at your own pace. The certificate the site promotes, "AI Literacy for yourself", is a 60-minute certification on general AI literacy offered through a separate MinnaLearn product. The free course does not come with that certificate on its own page, so list the certificate as a separate item when you compare costs.
For a complete beginner who wants the concepts with no certificate attached, this is the strongest free start in the list. It is the wrong pick if a certificate is the goal. If you would rather have an AI tutor than a course, the best AI education tools compares those options.
free learning, with the certificate on a separate offer. Take the course for the content, then check the MinnaLearn price before you decide whether the certificate is worth it.
Machine Learning with Python (freeCodeCamp): five required projects
Cost: no fee stated on the pages we read.
freeCodeCamp's Machine Learning with Python certification includes five required projects, and its other challenges are optional. The course covers TensorFlow, neural networks, natural language processing and reinforcement learning. Its certifications article includes the line "Learn to code for free."
The pages we read do not state a certificate fee, so check the certification page and its claim steps before you start. The projects are the real value: five required builds are more evidence of skill than a course quiz.
the best pick for people who learn by building. If you want a lecture-led course, look elsewhere on this list.
Professional Certificates (DeepLearning.AI): certificates belong to a membership
Cost: a membership is needed for certificates.
DeepLearning.AI's membership page lists more than 150 courses on demand, alongside its Professional Certificates. The clearest signal of how the model works is its wording on downgrades: members who downgrade "can continue to earn certificates until your next billing cycle." Certificates follow a paid plan.
The membership page does not show a price, so confirm the current figure at checkout before you enroll. If you already pay for the membership, the certificates are a reasonable extra. If you are looking for a free credential, this is the option to skip. If you are comparing paid AI credentials, how to get a job in AI without a degree lays out the ones worth a look.
a paid route with a deep catalogue. Not a free certificate.
How to check a "free" course in five minutes
- Find the word "certificate" on the course's own page, not on the provider's homepage. Homepages say "free" more loosely than course pages do.
- Name the output. A certificate, a badge and a completion record are three different things, and each one is worth naming precisely when you show it to someone.
- Count the work. The Agents Course wants assignments and a final challenge, freeCodeCamp wants five projects, and Google's intro course is 45 minutes.
- Check the account you need. Claude 101 runs on Skilljar, IBM's badge is claimed on Credly, and the Elements of AI certificate is on MinnaLearn.
- Write down the date you read the terms. Terms on these pages change, and the checks behind this list are dated 10 October 2026.
What a free certificate proves
A certificate proves you finished something. It does not prove you can do the job. Two of the seven picks already ask you to build something: the Agents Course final challenge and freeCodeCamp's five projects. For the rest, pair the certificate with one small project you can actually show. For the study habits that make a course stick, read how to use AI to study.
FAQ
Are there free AI courses that give a certificate?
Yes. Hugging Face's Agents Course and Anthropic's Claude 101 both give a certificate of completion at no cost. IBM SkillsBuild's Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals gives a free digital badge after 10 or more hours, and Google AI Essentials earns a certificate on completion with no learning credits needed.
Which free AI course is best for a complete beginner?
Elements of AI's "An Introduction to AI" is free and self-paced, and it is the strongest free start for learning the concepts. If you also want a badge at the end, IBM's Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals takes 10 or more hours and ends in a digital badge on Credly. Students can compare study-focused options in the best AI for college students.
Is the Claude 101 certificate really free?
Yes, according to the course's Skilljar page, which shows FREE on the registration button and lists a certificate of completion in the curriculum. You need a Skilljar account, and the page mentions no subscription, credit card or API key.
Does Elements of AI give a free certificate?
Not with its free course. The certificate the site promotes, "AI Literacy for yourself", is a 60-minute certification offered through a separate MinnaLearn product, so check its price there if you want the credential.
Do DeepLearning.AI certificates cost money?
They come with the membership. The membership page says members who downgrade can keep earning certificates only until their next billing cycle, so the certificates depend on a paid plan.
How long do these courses take?
IBM's Artificial Intelligence Fundamentals takes 10 or more hours. Google's Introduction to Generative AI takes 45 minutes. Claude 101 has 14 sections. freeCodeCamp's Machine Learning with Python certification has five required projects, and the Agents Course needs its units and final challenge.
Bottom line
If you want a free certificate you can finish this month, start with Claude 101 when your work runs through Claude, or with the Agents Course if you build software. IBM's badge suits anyone who needs a shareable credential and can give it 10 or more hours. Skip the certificate-led offers unless you already pay for the platform, and confirm the terms on the provider's own page the day you enroll. If you want free software rather than courses, start with the best free AI tools.
Sources, checked 10 October 2026: Hugging Face Agents Course, Claude 101 on Skilljar, Anthropic Academy courses, Google Cloud training blog, Google Skills, Introduction to Generative AI, IBM SkillsBuild digital credentials, IBM SkillsBuild, Elements of AI, freeCodeCamp certifications, freeCodeCamp Machine Learning with Python, DeepLearning.AI membership.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.