WHOOP vs Oura (2026): Which Costs Less and Which to Buy

WHOOP vs Oura (2026): Which Costs Less and Which to Buy
Key facts2 products compared: WHOOP Peak, Oura Ring 5
  • Updated: November 3, 2026
  • Prices as of: November 2026
  • 2 products compared: WHOOP Peak, Oura Ring 5
  • WHOOP Peak (best for: Sleep, recovery and stress data at the lowest total cost at list prices): $239 per year; $30 a month after the 12-month commitment
  • Oura Ring 5 (best for: A ring worn day and night): $399 (Silver or Black), or $499 (Gold, Deep Rose, Stealth, Brushed Silver); membership $69.99 a year or $5.99 a month

Disclosure: this page carries no affiliate links today. If Dupple later joins the WHOOP or Oura affiliate programs, any link added for them will be marked as an affiliate link. Rankings follow the criteria in the methodology.

Updated October 30, 2026: prices checked on each vendor's site. Compared from vendor specs and pricing pages, not tested hands-on.

Short answer: as of October 2026, WHOOP Peak is the better fit for a desk worker who wants sleep, recovery and stress data at the lower total cost at list prices: $239 a year with its device included, or $478 over 24 months. An Oura Ring 5 costs $399 plus $69.99 a year for the membership that unlocks its full insights, or $538.98 over 24 months. Oura wins if you want a ring instead of a wrist band.

At a glance

WHOOP Peak and Oura Ring 5 with membership: price, membership, battery claim and stress tracking (US list prices, read October 30, 2026)
Product Price (USD, US list prices) Membership Battery (vendor claim) Stress tracking Best for
WHOOP Peak $239 per year; $30 a month after the 12-month commitment Required; the device is included 14+ days Stress Monitor included Sleep, recovery and stress data at the lowest total cost at list prices
Oura Ring 5 $399 (Silver or Black), or $499 (Gold, Deep Rose, Stealth, Brushed Silver); membership $69.99 a year or $5.99 a month Needed for full insights; the ring alone shows three daily scores 6 to 9 days Daytime Stress needs membership A ring worn day and night

Prices from each vendor's US pages, read October 30, 2026. WHOOP's US prices come from its US support article dated May 28, 2026. Oura's come from its October 13, 2026 buying guide and its membership support article. Battery figures are the vendors' claims.

1. WHOOP Peak, best for sleep, recovery and stress at the lowest total cost at list prices

Dupple spec card for WHOOP Peak: $239 a year, read Oct 30, 2026, device included in the membership, Stress Monitor and Health Monitor, 14+ day battery (vendor claim).
Dupple spec card

Price: $239 per year, billed annually; $30 a month once the 12-month commitment is complete (WHOOP US support article, read October 30, 2026).

Hardware: WHOOP 5.0 sensor, Obsidian SuperKnit band and a Wireless PowerPack, all included in the membership.

Features: Recovery, Sleep and Strain scores, Stress Monitor, Health Monitor, and Healthspan (WHOOP Age and Pace of Aging). The membership page says the 5.0 sensor has a 14+ day battery life.

Pros

  • Stress Monitor and Health Monitor are included in the $239 price.
  • $229.99 less than an Oura Ring 5 with membership in the first year.
  • WHOOP offers a lifetime warranty: "If you're experiencing any issues with your WHOOP, our team will work with you to resolve them or replace your device" (terms apply, per WHOOP's membership page).

Cons

  • It is a wrist band only. There is no ring in the lineup.
  • Monthly billing costs $30 a month, or $360 a year, which is $121 more than the annual price (monthly billing is offered only after the 12-month commitment, not at signup).
  • Blood Pressure Insights and the ECG Heart Screener need WHOOP Life at $359 a year, $120 more than Peak.
  • The pages we read publish no accuracy percentage for sleep or stress, so the feature list is the only claim you can check.

Best for: people who want sleep, recovery and stress data without a second device, and who will keep the membership for at least a year.

Official page: WHOOP memberships

2. Oura Ring 5, best for a ring you wear day and night

Dupple spec card for Oura Ring 5: $399 (Silver or Black), Oct 13, 2026, titanium ring from 2 grams, IP68, waterproof to 100 m, 6 to 9 day battery (vendor claim).
Dupple spec card

Price: $399 for the Silver or Black finish, $499 for Gold, Deep Rose, Stealth and Brushed Silver (Oura's USD price table, October 13, 2026; the US store showed the same $399 and $499 on November 3, 2026). Oura Membership is $5.99 a month or $69.99 a year (Oura's membership support article, updated October 29, 2026). The sizing kit is free.

Specs: titanium ring from 2 grams, IP68 rated, waterproof to 100 m (Oura's Ring 5 page). Oura says one charge lasts up to 6 to 9 days, depending on ring size and use.

Pros

  • No band on the wrist: a titanium ring that Oura rates for water to 100 m.
  • Oura publishes a 95% sleep staging accuracy figure against a clinical sleep lab, with a footnote on how it was validated.
  • New members get one complimentary month of membership, and a 30-day return window from delivery.

Cons

  • Without a membership you see three daily scores (Readiness, Activity and Sleep), the battery and Explore content. The membership is the price of the detail.
  • Year one costs $468.99 with the annual membership, which is $229.99 more than WHOOP Peak.
  • The $499 finishes cost $100 more than the $399 ones, and a 10-minute top-up needs the optional $99 charging case.
  • Its battery claim of up to 6 to 9 days is shorter than WHOOP's 14+ days.

Best for: people who would rather wear a ring than a band, and who accept a membership for the sleep and stress detail.

Official page: Oura Ring 5

Sleep and recovery: what each measures

Both products score sleep and recovery, but the pages differ on what sits behind a membership. WHOOP's Recovery, Sleep and Strain scores come with every tier, and Stress Monitor comes with Peak and Life. Oura's three daily scores (Sleep, Readiness and Activity) are free to read. Detailed sleep analysis, Daytime Stress and Resilience need the membership.

On accuracy, Oura's Ring 5 page prints 95% sleep staging accuracy against a clinical sleep lab. Its footnote says the validation is two-stage sleep staging against polysomnography. WHOOP's pages we read give no accuracy percentage, so the two cannot be compared on a number. Both figures are the vendors' own claims, not our measurements.

Sleep, recovery and stress features: WHOOP Peak against Oura Ring 5 with membership
Measure WHOOP Peak Oura Ring 5 with membership
Sleep Sleep score on every tier Sleep Score free; sleep stages need membership
Recovery or readiness Recovery score on every tier Readiness Score free; Resilience needs membership
Stress Stress Monitor included Daytime Stress needs membership

Verdict: for stress tracking, WHOOP Peak includes it in its annual price. On Oura you pay the membership on top of the ring to get it.

Form factor: wrist band vs ring

WHOOP is a band worn on the wrist, sold in several band styles. Oura is a titanium ring, and its Ring 5 page gives its width (6.09 mm), thickness (2.28 mm) and weight (from 2 grams, depending on size). Oura suggests ordering its free Ring 5 sizing kit before you buy. The pages we read do not give WHOOP's band weight, water rating or band sizing, so we cannot compare those.

Form factor: WHOOP Peak against Oura Ring 5
Factor WHOOP Peak Oura Ring 5
Worn on Wrist, in a band (Obsidian SuperKnit in Peak) Finger, titanium ring
Size and weight Not stated on the pages read From 2 g; 6.09 mm wide, 2.28 mm thick
Water rating Not stated on the pages read IP68; waterproof to 100 m

Verdict: pick the ring if you dislike a band on your wrist. The pages we read do not settle which one is more comfortable over a full day.

Battery and charging

WHOOP claims 14+ days on its 5.0 sensor. Oura claims up to 6 to 9 days, and it says battery life depends on ring size, settings and use. Peak includes a Wireless PowerPack. Oura's ring charges in about 80 minutes, and its box includes the ring, charger and USB-C cable. The optional $99 charging case gives a full day of battery in 10 minutes.

Battery and charging: WHOOP Peak against Oura Ring 5
Item WHOOP Peak Oura Ring 5
Battery (vendor claim) 14+ days 6 to 9 days, depending on size and use
Charging Wireless PowerPack included with Peak About 80 minutes for a full charge; a full day in 10 minutes with the $99 case, sold separately
Charging accessory cost Included in the $239 price $99 for the charging case (optional)

Verdict: WHOOP claims the longer battery and includes its charger, so Peak needs no extra purchase to stay charged. Oura needs the $99 case only if you want a fast top-up.

Subscription: what you lose without it

Without a membership, Oura still shows three daily scores and the battery for the ring price. The pages we read sell WHOOP only as a membership, so they give no price without one.

What you keep without a membership, and what the membership costs
Item WHOOP Peak Oura Ring 5
Membership price Annual plan, or $30 a month after the 12-month commitment Annual plan, or $5.99 a month
Without membership Not stated on the pages read Three daily scores, ring battery, basic profile, app settings, Explore content; no API access. Apple Health sync needs an active membership (Gen3 or later rings).
Data if you cancel Not stated on the pages read Data export through the Membership Hub

Verdict: the Oura ring without a membership is a one-time $399. That is $160 more than WHOOP Peak in year one and $79 less at 24 months, but it drops the stress and sleep detail that made this comparison. A WHOOP buyer pays the membership from day one.

Which is cheaper after 1 and 2 years?

Dupple data: computed from vendor prices on October 30, 2026. In year one, an Oura Ring 5 with the annual membership costs $468.99: the ring plus the membership. WHOOP Peak costs less that year. The table gives the totals for each setup at US list prices.

Dupple data: 12 and 24 month totals in USD, from vendor list prices read October 30, 2026
Setup First 12 months First 24 months What it includes
WHOOP One, annual $199 $398 Device included; no Stress Monitor
WHOOP Peak, annual $239 $478 Device included; Stress Monitor and Health Monitor
WHOOP Life, annual $359 $718 Medical Grade device; ECG and Blood Pressure Insights
Oura Ring 5 with annual membership $468.99 $538.98 Ring plus full membership
Oura Ring 5 with monthly membership ($5.99 a month) $470.88 $542.76 Ring plus full membership, billed monthly
Oura Ring 4 with annual membership $418.99 $488.98 Ring 4 Silver ($349), plus full membership
Oura Ring 5, no membership $399 $399 Three daily scores and the battery only
Bar chart of 24-month totals in US dollars, lowest to highest: WHOOP One, Oura Ring 5 without membership, WHOOP Peak, Oura Ring 4 with membership, Oura Ring 5 with membership, WHOOP Life. The table above gives each figure.
The 24-month totals from the table above. Dupple data: computed from vendor prices on October 30, 2026.

Twelve monthly payments of $5.99 come to $71.88, and two years of the annual membership come to $139.98. WHOOP's Extending your Membership article lists 24-month extensions at $319 (One), $399 (Peak) and $599 (Life) for existing members; we could not confirm that price for a new signup, so the table uses two annual payments. Oura's free first month, which the table ignores, would cut about $6 from year one. Taxes, the optional $99 case and any warranty plan are left out. On November 3, 2026 Oura's US store listed the Ring 4 Silver at $349 and the Stealth at $349, list $399. The Ring 4 rows use the Silver price, and Oura can change it at any time.

Verdict: WHOOP Peak is cheaper at both points: $229.99 less after 12 months and $60.98 less after 24 months. WHOOP One at $199 a year is WHOOP's cheapest tier, but it has no stress monitor. WHOOP Life is the most expensive setup at $718 over two years. Oura without membership costs the same at both points and shows three scores.

Who should buy which

  • WHOOP Peak (annual plan): you want sleep, recovery and stress data at the lowest total cost at list prices.
  • WHOOP One ($199 a year): you want sleep and recovery scores and can do without the Stress Monitor.
  • WHOOP Life ($359 a year): you want the ECG Heart Screener or Blood Pressure Insights. WHOOP calls ECG a medically regulated feature that is not available in every region, and says Blood Pressure Insights is not a medical device.
  • Oura Ring 5 (ring plus membership): you want a ring and will pay for the membership detail.
  • Oura Ring 4 (Silver $349; Stealth $349, list $399, November 3, 2026): you want the Oura route at the lower entry price.

FAQ

Does Oura work without a membership?

Partly. Without an active membership, the Oura app shows your three daily scores (Readiness, Activity and Sleep), the ring's battery, basic profile information, app settings and Explore content. API access needs a membership, but you can still export your data through the Membership Hub. This is from Oura's membership support article, read October 30, 2026.

Can you use WHOOP without paying?

The WHOOP pages we read sell each tier with a device included. They give no price for WHOOP without a membership, so this page gives none. WHOOP's US support article lists monthly prices of $25 for One, $30 for Peak and $40 for Life, but monthly billing is open only to members who have completed their 12-month commitment, and it may vary by location.

Which is more accurate for sleep?

We have not tested either device, so this answer uses only the vendors' own figures. Oura's Ring 5 page says 95% sleep staging accuracy against a clinical sleep lab, and its footnote says the validation compares two-stage sleep staging with polysomnography. WHOOP's pages we read give no accuracy percentage, so there is no like-for-like number to compare.

Which is better for workouts?

The pages we read do not compare workout accuracy. WHOOP says its Strava sync brings GPS, distance, pace, power and cadence into WHOOP, and sends cardio and strength workouts to Strava. Oura lists Strava among the third-party apps that work with its membership, and it lists Cardio Capacity (VO2 max) among its membership features.

Do either work with Apple Health or Google Health Connect?

Both vendors support it, with conditions. WHOOP's Apple Health article (April 16, 2026) says iOS members can connect. Its Health Connect article (October 6, 2025) covers all members on Android, with data set by tier. Oura's Apple Health article (updated October 14, 2026) lists iOS only, for Gen2 rings and for Gen3 or later rings with an active membership. Its Health Connect article (August 19, 2026) lists Android only, with the same ring and membership split.

Is there a WHOOP or Oura discount code?

Dupple holds no code for either brand, and this page names none. Oura's membership support article says new members receive one complimentary month of membership, once per account. That is an offer from Oura, not a code. We did not confirm a current US discount on WHOOP's pages, so none is named.

Which costs less over two years?

WHOOP Peak, at $478 over 24 months, against $538.98 for an Oura Ring 5 with the annual membership. The gap is $60.98 at US list prices.

Are these medical devices?

Oura's terms say its services are not a medical device, except for features Oura expressly regulates. WHOOP says its Blood Pressure Insights "is not a medical device", and calls its ECG and irregular heart rhythm notifications medically regulated features that are not available in every region. This page gives no medical advice. Talk to a clinician about any health question.

Methodology

We compared WHOOP's One, Peak and Life tiers with the Oura Ring 5 and Ring 4, each with Oura Membership, at US list prices read on each vendor's pages on October 30, 2026. The criteria are the sleep, recovery and stress features a desk worker uses and the total cost over 12 and 24 months. Affiliate payouts do not enter the ranking, and this page has no affiliate links. WHOOP's membership page showed euro prices from our reading location, so its US prices come from its May 28, 2026 support article. Neither device was tested hands-on. Vendor claims are marked as claims. We re-read prices every 60 days and at each vendor sale.

Sources

Pick WHOOP Peak if sleep, recovery and stress data matter and the total cost decides it. Pick the Oura Ring 5 if you want a ring and will pay for the membership detail. Check each vendor's US page before you buy, because prices move.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime

Want to do this faster with AI?

These guides cover the AI tools and workflows that save hours on writing, studying, and research.

Or browse Toolradar for 9,000+ AI tools across 400+ categories with verified pricing.

Related Articles
Nov 3, 2026

XTool vs Glowforge (2026): Six Machines Compared With Prices

xTool and Glowforge compared in three price bands: US prices read November 3, 2026, bed sizes, lasers, warranties, ventilation and 12- and 24-month running costs.

Nov 3, 2026

Anker vs Ugreen vs Belkin (2026): Which Desk Kit Costs Less

Anker, Ugreen and Belkin on one desk kit: a 100W GaN charger, a 10,000 mAh Qi2 power bank and a Qi2 3-in-1 station, priced on each US store on November 3, 2026.

Nov 3, 2026

TP-Link Deco vs eero (2026): Three Matched Tiers With Prices and Subscription Costs

TP-Link Deco vs eero in three matched tiers, with US 3-pack prices read November 3, 2026, specs, warranties and 12- and 24-month subscription costs.