Best Free AI Object Removers in 2026: Caps and Watermarks

Trusted by780,000+ Techpresso subscribers·Editorial policy·How we make money

Start with Pixelcut if you want a free export with no watermark. Cleanup.pictures suits quick removals when a 720px export is enough. IOPaint has no vendor cap because it runs on your own computer, but you install it yourself. Google Photos, Adobe Firefly, Photoroom, Magic Studio and Airbrush cover the rest, and most state their limits in words, not numbers.

Toolradar data: Toolradar tracks 166 image editing tools as of October 10, 2026, and 66% of them are free, freemium or open source. The free tier is where a buyer decides, so this page ranks the tools on the limits they publish.

Tool Best for Free plan, as published Cheapest paid step (USD)
Pixelcut Free exports with no watermark "Free export without watermark", Magic Eraser marked "Limited" Pro $8/month, billed yearly
Cleanup.pictures Quick removals at 720px Unlimited images, exports capped at 720px Pro $36/year ($3/month)
Google Photos People who already use Google Photos Free for eligible users, no cap stated Not stated on the page
IOPaint No vendor cap, self-hosted Free and open source (Apache-2.0) None, open source
Adobe Firefly Daily free generations Free daily generations, count not stated Standard US$9.99/month
Photoroom Product photo work No free object-removal allowance stated Pro $7.50/month, billed yearly
Magic Studio Occasional edits where a logo is fine Free with ads and logo, low resolution Not stated on the page
Airbrush One-off edits Free, one image at a time, no cap stated Not stated on the page

What is an AI object remover?

An AI object remover is an image tool that deletes an unwanted person, object or mark from a photo and fills the gap with generated pixels. Several free versions cap how many edits you get, how large the export can be, or both, so the free plan is the part worth comparing.

Methodology: how we checked the free plans

We read each vendor's own pricing, feature and product pages on October 10, 2026, and quote only the US dollar prices and limits those pages publish. Where a vendor publishes no free limit, the table says so rather than estimating one. We did not run any tool on a photo, so this page compares published limits, not output quality. The order follows the free limits first and the watermark rule second.

Free limits compared

Tool Free limit as published Watermark on free Export size on free Paid step (USD)
Pixelcut Background removal, upscale and Magic Eraser marked "Limited", no count Free export without watermark Not stated Pro $8/month, billed yearly
Cleanup.pictures "Unlimited images" in the table; Clipdrop lists Cleanup at 20 uses per 24 hours Not stated 720px Pro $36/year ($3/month)
Google Photos No cap stated; eligibility not defined Not stated Not stated Not stated
IOPaint No vendor cap, you run it Not stated Not stated Free, open source
Adobe Firefly "Free daily generations", count not stated Not mentioned Not stated Standard US$9.99/month, 2,000 credits
Photoroom No free object-removal allowance stated Not stated Not stated Pro $7.50/month, billed yearly
Magic Studio "Edit One Picture at a Time", no count "Magic Studio Logo" Low resolution Not stated
Airbrush One image at a time, no cap stated Not stated Not stated Not stated

One row needs a note. Cleanup.pictures says unlimited images, but Clipdrop's pricing page lists Cleanup at 20 uses every 24 hours on its free plan.

1

Pixelcut: the free export with no watermark

Pixelcut is the pick if your edits go on a public page and a logo in the corner would cost you. Its free plan promises "Free export without watermark", but Background Removal, Upscale and Magic Eraser are all marked "Limited" with no number attached. That word is the catch: you cannot plan a batch around a limit the page never names.

Pro is $8 a month when billed yearly, which comes to $96 a year. The page also shows $10 beside that figure. Pro adds 600 AI credits a month and 300 uses a day of Generative Fill and Expand Image, rising to 1,200 a day on Business. Start on the free plan and move to Pro only after a full week of real work shows you where the limit bites.

Source: Pixelcut pricing.

2

Cleanup.pictures: quick removals, capped at 720px

Cleanup.pictures is a dedicated object remover, and its pricing table lists unlimited images on the free plan. The free version caps exports at 720px, and the FAQ says so in plain words. That size works for a social post and fails for a print or a product listing that gets zoomed.

Clipdrop's pricing page lists Cleanup at 20 uses every 24 hours on its free plan. The two pages disagree, so treat "unlimited" as unconfirmed until your own account shows the count. Pro costs $5 a month or $36 a year, which works out to $3 a month, for images of any size.

Sources: Cleanup.pictures and Clipdrop pricing.

3

Google Photos: free for eligible users

Google's own page says the AI editing tools are "accessible to eligible Google Photos users at no cost". To erase something you tap one of the suggested objects, or brush or circle the one you want gone. The page sets no monthly cap and does not define eligibility, so look at the edit menu on your own account before you plan a batch.

Verdict

If your photos already sit in Google Photos, start here, because it needs no new account or app. Do not assume the free access covers every edit, though. The page gives no number for any of them.

Source: Google Photos editing.

4

Adobe Firefly: daily free generations with an Adobe account

Firefly's remove object feature is free with an Adobe account. Adobe's FAQ promises "free daily generations to erase unwanted elements from images" and says the limit refreshes every day, but the page does not give the daily count. Adobe also calls its Firefly models commercially safe. That is a general statement about the models, not a term of the free plan.

The paid step is Standard at US$9.99 a month for 2,000 generative credits, or Pro at US$19.99 a month for 4,000 credits. The plans page lists monthly prices only. Firefly suits people who already work in Adobe software and want generative edits that Adobe describes as safe for commercial use.

Sources: Adobe Firefly remove object and Adobe Firefly plans.

5

IOPaint: no vendor cap, but you run it

IOPaint is the free option with no vendor limit to hit. It is open source under the Apache-2.0 license, and its README calls it self-hosted. You install it with pip, start it with one command and open the local page in your browser. Its erase model, based on LaMa, removes an unwanted object, a defect, a watermark or a person from an image.

The catch is that the repository is archived and read-only, so nobody will fix bugs upstream. Treat any problem as yours to work around. Use IOPaint when you already work with Python and want no per-edit limit at all.

Source: IOPaint on GitHub.

6

Photoroom: a product-photo tool with no published free allowance

Photoroom's pricing and tool menu lean toward product photos, and Remove Objects sits in its tools list. The pricing page shows only the paid plans with figures: Pro at $7.50 a month billed yearly with 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports, Max at $20.99 a month billed yearly with 25,000 credits, and Ultra at $82.50 a month billed yearly. It offers "Start for free" but gives no allowance for object removal on the free tier.

The catch is the missing number. If you need one before you sign up, ask the vendor or check the limit inside a free account. Pick Photoroom for product photo work, not for free removals alone.

Source: Photoroom pricing.

7

Magic Studio: free with ads, a logo and low resolution

Magic Studio's Magic Eraser has a free tier, and its page is open about the trade. The free plan carries ads, a "Magic Studio Logo" on the download, low-resolution exports and one picture at a time. The page gives no daily or monthly count, and it does not show the paid plan price. It only says you can upgrade for PRO features.

Use it for an occasional edit where a logo and a small file are fine. Skip it for anything you publish at full size.

Source: Magic Studio Magic Eraser.

8

Airbrush: free to start, no published caps

Airbrush calls its AI Object Remover free and works on one image at a time, with no batch mode. The page gives no daily cap, no watermark rule and no export size in pixels. Its paid prices are not stated there either.

Treat it as a second option after the tools in this list, and try one picture before you rely on it.

Source: Airbrush object remover.

What the paid steps cost per year

Every paid price below is a US dollar figure the vendor shows, with the billing term it applies to. Pixelcut Pro at $8 a month billed yearly comes to $96 a year. Cleanup.pictures Pro at $36 a year is the cheapest paid year on this list. Photoroom Pro at $7.50 a month billed yearly is $90 a year, and its Max plan at $20.99 a month billed yearly is $251.88 a year. Adobe Firefly Standard at US$9.99 a month is $119.88 a year for 2,000 credits, and Firefly Pro at US$19.99 a month is $239.88 a year for 4,000 credits.

How to choose

  • You need no watermark on a free export: start with Pixelcut, then check its Magic Eraser count in your own account.
  • You need many quick, rough removals and a 720px file is enough: Cleanup.pictures, once you have confirmed the count.
  • Your photos already sit in Google Photos: use its edit tools before you open another app.
  • You want generative edits that Adobe calls commercially safe and already work in Adobe software: Adobe Firefly on the free daily allowance, then Standard if the count runs out.
  • You want no vendor limit and can run software yourself: IOPaint.
  • You work on product photos and expect to pay: Photoroom, but confirm its free limit before you commit to a plan.

Common mistakes

  1. Reading "free" as "no watermark". Magic Studio puts its logo on the free download. Pixelcut's no-watermark promise covers its free export, not every tool in this list.
  2. Printing a 720px file. Cleanup.pictures caps free exports at 720px, which is fine for a social post and too small for a poster.
  3. Trusting "unlimited" without the count. Cleanup.pictures lists unlimited images while Clipdrop lists 20 Cleanup uses per 24 hours on its free plan. Check your own account.
  4. Buying a year before testing the limit. Pixelcut Pro is $96 a year billed yearly. Run the free plan through a real week of work first, because the page names no number for its Limited features.
  5. Assuming a free tool costs nothing to run. IOPaint is free to download, but you install it, keep the Python setup working and work around bugs, because the repository is archived.
  6. Planning around a number that is not published. Adobe Firefly's daily count and Google Photos' cap are not on their pages. Test the limit in your account before you plan a batch.

FAQ

What is the best free AI object remover in 2026?

There is no single winner, because each vendor publishes a different limit. Pixelcut suits anyone who needs a free export with no watermark, Cleanup.pictures suits quick removals at 720px, and IOPaint suits people who want no vendor limit and can run the software themselves.

Is there a free AI object remover with no watermark?

Pixelcut says its free export has no watermark. Magic Studio puts its logo on free downloads, and Photoroom's pricing page does not state a free watermark rule. IOPaint is self-hosted, so no vendor logo applies to your output.

Is Google Photos Magic Eraser free?

Google says its AI editing tools are accessible to eligible Google Photos users at no cost. The page sets no monthly cap and does not define eligibility, so check the edit menu on your account.

How much does Adobe Firefly cost for removing objects?

The remove object feature is free with an Adobe account, with free daily generations that refresh every day. The paid Standard plan is US$9.99 a month for 2,000 generative credits, and Pro is US$19.99 a month for 4,000.

Can I remove objects from photos for free on my own computer?

Yes, with IOPaint. It is open source under the Apache-2.0 license, you install it with pip, and it runs on your own machine. The project is archived, so expect no further updates.

How much is Photoroom?

Photoroom's Pro plan is $7.50 a month billed yearly, with 8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports. Its pricing page does not state a free allowance for object removal.

Bottom line

For most people, Pixelcut's free export is the right starting point, because it carries no watermark and its Pro price is stated plainly. Cleanup.pictures is quicker for rough removals at 720px. Google Photos is the free route if your library already lives there, and IOPaint is the choice when you want no vendor limit at all. Check the limit that matters to your work in your own account, because several vendors describe their free limits in words instead of numbers.

If you want more AI tools in one place, start the Dupple X trial.

Cite this: Dupple, "Best Free AI Object Removers in 2026: Caps and Watermarks", October 2026. Category count from Toolradar image editing, checked October 10, 2026.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Related Articles
Blog Post

8 Best AI for iPhone in 2026 (Compared)

The 8 best AI for iPhone in 2026, compared. Apple Intelligence, ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity with honest takes on what works on mobile.

Blog Post

9 Best Free AI Apps in 2026 (iOS and Android Compared)

The 9 best free AI apps in 2026 for iOS and Android. ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity, Meta AI and more with honest takes on what the free tier covers.

Article

Is Suno Free in 2026? Free Plan Limits, Download Cap and 7 Alternatives

Suno's free plan gives 50 credits a day but only 7 lifetime downloads and no commercial rights. Suno and 7 alternatives compared, checked Oct 2026.

Article

9 Best CapCut Alternatives in 2026 (Free and Paid)

9 best CapCut alternatives in 2026, prices checked September 25. DaVinci Resolve Studio is $295 one time. Clipchamp is free with no watermark.

Article

Best Free AI Ad Generators in 2026: Limits Compared

The best free AI ad generators in 2026, compared on free credits, watermarks, commercial rights and the cheapest paid upgrade. Checked on vendor pages, October 2026.

Article

8 Best ElevenLabs Alternatives in 2026 (Real Pricing Compared)

The 8 best ElevenLabs alternatives in 2026, prices checked October 2026. Cartesia starts at $5/mo, Fish Audio's free plan ships 8,000 credits monthly.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime