XTool vs Glowforge (2026): Six Machines Compared With Prices

XTool vs Glowforge (2026): Six Machines Compared With Prices

Disclosure: no affiliate program pays Dupple for the links on this page yet. Both brands are linked to their own US stores. Rankings follow the methodology below.

Updated November 3, 2026: prices re-checked on each vendor's US store or pricing page. Compared from vendor specs and pricing pages, not tested hands-on.

Card with five xTool and Glowforge machines and their US prices on November 3, 2026: Glowforge Aura $999 sale, xTool F2 $1,149 final, xTool P2S $2,999, xTool P3 $5,899 final, Glowforge Pro HD $7,999.
Our own card: five of the six machines in the table, with US prices read November 3, 2026.

As of November 2026, Glowforge's Aura costs $999 on sale (list $1,199) and xTool's F2 $1,149 after a Black Friday discount (MSRP $1,299) ending November 9. The P2S (MSRP $4,499) and Glowforge's rebuilt Pro cost $2,999. xTool's P3 costs $5,899 after its discount (MSRP $6,599), and Glowforge's Pro HD $7,999. Across three price bands, the two brands split the wins.

xTool vs Glowforge at a glance

The table lists six machines in the order set by the price rule in the methodology. The order is price only, so it says nothing about quality.

Six xTool and Glowforge machines in ranking order: US dollars, laser, work area, warranty and ventilation, as printed on each vendor's page (November 3, 2026). xTool's Black Friday figures end November 9, 2026.
Rank Machine Price (Nov 3, 2026) Laser Work area Warranty (as printed) Ventilation
1 Glowforge Aura $999, list $1,199 6W diode 12 by 12 in 12 months Window hose, or Craft Laser Filter, $399
2 xTool F2 Portable $1,149 final (MSRP $1,299) 5W IR and 15W diode 4.5 by 4.5 in standard, 15.75 by 4.5 in with slide extension 12 months Optional Air Purifier Go: $1,299 final bundle
3 xTool P2S $2,999 (MSRP $4,499) 55W CO2, enclosed 23.6 by 12 in 12 months Exhaust pipe out a window, or AP2 purifier at $999
4 Glowforge Pro, certified rebuilt $2,999 45W CO2 19.5 by 11 in 3-month manufacturer's guarantee on the buy box; 12-month warranty in the warranty section Window within 8 ft, or $1,295 filter
5 xTool P3 $5,899 final (MSRP $6,599) 80W CO2 36 by 18 in 12 months Optional AP2 Max purifier, $2,499 (named on the P3 page)
6 Glowforge Pro HD $7,999 45W CO2 Not printed on its page 12 months Window within 8 ft, or $1,295 filter

The six machines, in ranking order

1. Glowforge Aura: the lowest price here, with the bigger bed of the entry pair

Dupple spec card for Glowforge Aura: $999 sale price, 6W diode laser, 12 by 12 inch cutting area, Passthrough slot.
Dupple spec card

Glowforge lists the Aura at $999 on sale, list $1,199, on its US shop, read November 3, 2026. The Aura's cutting area is 12 by 12 inches, and it has a Passthrough slot for material longer than the bed. Its 6W diode is the lowest-powered diode in this table, so it suits thin material; the page does not print cut depths.

  • Lowest price here: $150 under the xTool F2's Black Friday price.
  • A 12 by 12 inch cutting area, against 4.5 by 4.5 inches on the F2's standard bed.
  • A Passthrough slot for long strips and signs.
  • Its 6W laser is 9 watts below the F2's 15W diode.
  • Ventilation needs a window hose or the $399 Craft Laser Filter. Its replacement cartridge costs $129.
  • Wi-Fi is required.

Best for: a buyer who wants the largest bed under $1,000 for thin wood, acrylic or card-weight material.

Official page: glowforge.com/aura/main

2. xTool F2 Portable: the entry machine that marks metal

Dupple spec card for xTool F2 Portable: $1,149 final price, 5W IR and 15W diode lasers, 4.5 by 4.5 inch standard bed, 12-month warranty.
Dupple spec card

xTool's US store shows the F2 at $1,149 final on November 3, 2026, after a Black Friday discount (MSRP $1,299) that ends November 9, 2026. The 5W infrared laser is listed for plastic, gold, silver, platinum and stainless steel, and the 15W diode covers wood, acrylic and leather. The page says F2 models do not cut metal.

  • A 5W infrared laser that the page lists for stainless steel, gold and silver.
  • A 50MP camera with live preview for placing small pieces.
  • Class 4 laser safety, with a 12-month warranty.
  • The standard bed is 4.5 by 4.5 inches. The slide extension widens it to 15.75 by 4.5 inches.
  • No metal cutting. The F2 page lists none for the F2 models.
  • Indoors, xTool offers the Air Purifier Go as a bundle: $1,299 final, against $1,149 for the F2 alone.

Best for: small metal and plastic pieces, such as tags and jewelry blanks, on a budget.

Official page: xtool.com, F2 Portable

3. xTool P2S: the new, enclosed CO2 in the middle band

Dupple spec card for xTool P2S: $2,999 price, 55W CO2 laser enclosed, 23.6 by 12 inch bed, 12-month warranty.
Dupple spec card

The P2S costs $2,999 (MSRP $4,499) on xTool's US store, read November 3, 2026. It is a 55W CO2 laser in an enclosed body, with a 16MP dual camera and AutoPassthrough for material up to 118 inches long. The page says it cuts 20mm clear acrylic in one pass.

  • A new machine with a printed 12-month warranty, at the same price as the rebuilt Glowforge Pro.
  • An enclosed body with a light-filtering lid, and a fan rated at 145 CFM.
  • A Class 1 variant is offered alongside the Class 4 standard.
  • The page gives two bed sizes: 23.6 by 12 inches in the banner, 26 by 14 inches in the copy. This table uses the banner figure.
  • Without a window for the exhaust pipe, the AP2 purifier adds $999. Its replacement filter price is not in our read, so the cost table does not include it.
  • It costs $2,000 more than the Aura, and the Aura is a diode, not CO2.

Best for: a shop that cuts thick acrylic and wood indoors, or anyone who wants an enclosed machine with a warranty.

Official page: xtool.com, P2S

4. Glowforge Pro, certified rebuilt: same price, not a new machine

Dupple spec card for Glowforge Pro certified rebuilt: $2,999 rebuilt price, 45W CO2 laser, Passthrough slot, window within 8 feet or filter.
Dupple spec card

Glowforge sells the Pro as a certified rebuilt unit at $2,999, a regular price on its US shop on November 3, 2026. It is a 45W CO2 laser with a Passthrough slot, rated Class 4. Its cutting area is about 19.5 by 11 inches.

  • Software included: the Pro page lists lifetime free access to Glowforge Print software.
  • A Passthrough slot for material longer than the bed.
  • $150 of Proofgrade materials with the purchase, for buyers who want Glowforge's own stock.
  • Rebuilt, not new: the buy box prints a 3-month manufacturer's guarantee, while the Pro page's warranty section prints 12 months. Confirm which one applies before you buy.
  • Ventilation needs a window within 8 feet, or the $1,295 Performance Laser Filter. Its cartridges cost $249 each.
  • The web software needs internet access, according to the Plus and Pro pages.

Best for: an existing Glowforge user who accepts a rebuilt unit at the same price as the P2S.

Official page: shop.glowforge.com, Pro certified rebuilt

5. xTool P3: 80W and a 36 by 18 inch bed for $5,899

Dupple spec card for xTool P3: $5,899 final price, 80W CO2 laser, 36 by 18 inch working area, 12-month warranty.
Dupple spec card

xTool's US store shows the P3 at $5,899 final on November 3, 2026, after a Black Friday discount (MSRP $6,599) that ends November 9, 2026. Its 80W CO2 laser works over a 36 by 18 inch area (915 by 458 mm), at up to 1,200 mm/s. Four cameras handle placement, and the page lists automatic positioning and autofocus.

  • The largest printed work area in this table, at 36 by 18 inches.
  • The most laser power in the table, at 80W.
  • Four cameras and automatic positioning.
  • The 5W IR module, the RA3 rotary and the conveyor are sold separately unless a bundle includes them.
  • xTool's FAQ says the AP2 Max is engineered for heavy-duty laser cutters like the P3. The cost table adds it at $2,499.

Best for: a workshop that cuts large sheets or wide signs and needs the bed more than a Glowforge ecosystem.

Official page: xtool.com, P3

6. Glowforge Pro HD: the Glowforge flagship at $7,999

Dupple spec card for Glowforge Pro HD: $7,999 price, 45W CO2 laser, Passthrough slot, Wi-Fi required.
Dupple spec card

Glowforge's shop lists the Pro HD at $7,999, a regular price with no sale label, on November 3, 2026. It is a 45W CO2 laser with a Passthrough slot and a live camera preview in HD. The shop page prints a 12-month worry-free warranty.

  • A new machine with a 12-month warranty printed on its shop page.
  • Lifetime free access to Glowforge Print software, and free Proofgrade materials.
  • The Passthrough slot and HD live camera preview, both named on the shop page.
  • It costs $2,100 more than the xTool P3's Black Friday price, for 45W against 80W.
  • Wi-Fi is required. Ventilation needs a window within 8 feet, or the $1,295 filter.
  • Its bed size is not printed on the shop page, so this table cannot compare it on area.

Best for: a buyer already on Glowforge's materials and software who needs a new machine with a Passthrough slot.

Official page: shop.glowforge.com, Pro HD

xTool vs Glowforge

Each band below sets the nearest machine from each brand side by side, using the printed price and the spec that matters most in that band.

Head-to-head by price band, US prices read November 3, 2026
Price band xTool Glowforge Gap today
Entry, about $1,000 to $1,150 F2 Portable, $1,149 final, 5W IR and 15W diode Aura, $999 sale (list $1,199), 6W diode, 12 by 12 in Aura is $150 less
Middle, $2,999 P2S, new, enclosed, 55W CO2 Pro, certified rebuilt, 45W CO2 Same price; the P2S is new
Top, $5,899 to $7,999 P3, $5,899 final, 80W CO2, 36 by 18 in Pro HD, $7,999, 45W CO2 P3 is $2,100 less until November 9, 2026 ($1,400 less at MSRP)

Entry band: Glowforge's Aura wins on price with a window hose; with the $399 filter it costs $99 more than the F2 with Air Purifier Go. The Aura costs $150 less than the F2 alone, and it offers 12 by 12 inches against 4.5 by 4.5 inches. xTool's F2 is the pick only if you need its 5W infrared laser for metal marking, which the Aura does not list.

Middle band: the xTool P2S wins. At the same price, it is a new unit with a printed 12-month warranty, an enclosed body and 55W of CO2 power, against the rebuilt Pro's 45W. Glowforge's Pro makes sense only if you want Glowforge's software and Proofgrade stock and accept a rebuilt unit.

Top band: the xTool P3 wins on machine price and power. It costs $2,100 less than the Pro HD until November 9, 2026, with 80W against 45W and a printed 36 by 18 inch area. With the $2,499 AP2 Max purifier, the P3 costs $8,398: $399 above the Pro HD on a window, and $896 below the Pro HD with its $1,295 filter. The Pro HD wins for a buyer who already uses Glowforge's materials and software, and who needs the Passthrough slot that the P3 page does not list.

Glowforge vs xTool: software and running costs

Software and connection

Glowforge's Plus, Pro and Pro HD pages list lifetime free access to Glowforge Print software. Glowforge Premium is a separate paid plan: it has a 14-day free trial and starts at $20 a month. Glowforge's web software needs internet access, and the Pro HD page says Wi-Fi is required.

xTool's P2S page calls its software free, and its FAQ says the P2S works without Wi-Fi: connect the machine to your computer with a Type-C cable, then use XCS or LightBurn. The F2 page does not state offline use. Both xTool pages name Windows and macOS.

Which is cheapest after 12 and 24 months?

Dupple data: computed from vendor prices on Nov 3, 2026. The rows add only the ventilation accessory a vendor's page names, and each Glowforge Pro filter cartridge costs $249. Glowforge's support article says light users may change cartridges once a year and frequent users may need monthly replacements, so the table shows both. A window vent costs nothing. Glowforge Premium is left out, because it is optional: at $20 a month it adds $240 at 12 months and $480 at 24.

Setup cost plus the accessory and cartridges each vendor's page names, at 12 and 24 months (US dollars, Nov 3, 2026)
Machine and setup Setup today 12 months 24 months
Glowforge Aura, window hose $999 $999 $999
Glowforge Aura with Craft Laser Filter $1,398 $1,398 $1,398
xTool F2 Portable, no purifier $1,149 $1,149 $1,149
xTool F2 Portable with Air Purifier Go $1,299 $1,299 $1,299
xTool P2S, exhaust out a window $2,999 $2,999 $2,999
xTool P2S with AP2 purifier $3,998 $3,998 $3,998
Glowforge Pro certified rebuilt, window within 8 feet $2,999 $2,999 $2,999
Glowforge Pro certified rebuilt, filter, light user $4,294 $4,543 $4,792
Glowforge Pro certified rebuilt, filter, frequent user $4,294 $7,282 $10,270
xTool P3, final price $5,899 $5,899 $5,899
xTool P3 with AP2 Max purifier $8,398 $8,398 $8,398
Glowforge Pro HD, window within 8 feet $7,999 $7,999 $7,999
Glowforge Pro HD, filter, light user $9,294 $9,543 $9,792
Glowforge Pro HD, filter, frequent user $9,294 $12,282 $15,270

The arithmetic, once: the Pro HD with the filter costs $7,999 plus $1,295, or $9,294. A frequent user buys 12 cartridges in a year, 12 times $249, or $2,988, so the 12-month total is $9,294 plus $2,988, which is $12,282. At 24 months it is $9,294 plus 24 times $249, or $5,976, a total of $15,270.

On the window vent, the costs stay flat at each machine's setup price. The filter is the expensive part: a frequent Glowforge user pays $7,271 more over 24 months than on a window, on both the Pro and the Pro HD. The Aura row leaves out its $129 cartridge, and the AP2 cartridge price is not in our read, so those running costs are understated.

Who should buy which

  • Thin material, the biggest bed in the entry band: the Glowforge Aura.
  • Small metal pieces on a budget: the xTool F2, which marks stainless steel, gold and silver but does not cut metal.
  • An enclosed indoor shop in the middle band: the xTool P2S, if you can vent through a window or accept the AP2 purifier.
  • Glowforge users who accept a rebuilt unit: the Glowforge Pro, with the filter cost budgeted.
  • Large sheets and wide signs: the xTool P3, for its 36 by 18 inch area and 80W laser.
  • Glowforge buyers who want a new top-end machine: the Pro HD, with Wi-Fi and the window or filter in place.

FAQ

Is xTool better than Glowforge?

xTool's P2S is the better buy in the middle band, and its P3 costs $2,100 less until November 9, 2026 ($1,400 less at MSRP) than the Glowforge Pro HD. Glowforge's Aura costs $150 less than the xTool F2 and has the bigger bed.

Do Glowforge machines need a subscription?

The Plus, Pro and Pro HD pages list lifetime free access to Glowforge Print software. Glowforge Premium is a separate paid plan from $20 a month, with a 14-day free trial.

Does the xTool F2 cut metal?

No. The F2 page says F2 models do not cut metal. Its 5W infrared laser engraves metal, including stainless steel, gold and silver.

Can a Glowforge run without internet?

Glowforge's Aura and Pro HD pages say Wi-Fi is required, and the Plus and Pro pages say the web interface needs internet. By contrast, xTool's P2S FAQ says it runs without Wi-Fi over a Type-C cable, using XCS or LightBurn. The F2 page does not state offline use.

How often do Glowforge filter cartridges need replacing?

Glowforge's support article says light users may change them once a year, and frequent users may need monthly replacements. Each Pro cartridge costs $249, and the filter itself costs $1,295.

Is the Glowforge Pro a new machine?

No, not in this comparison. Glowforge sells the Pro as a certified rebuilt unit at the same price as the P2S. Its buy box prints a 3-month manufacturer's guarantee, and the Pro page's warranty section prints 12 months.

Does the P2S need a purifier?

No, if you can run the exhaust pipe out a window, which the P2S page describes. Without a window, xTool's AP2 purifier is the alternative.

Methodology

Ranking rule: machines sorted by the US price on each vendor's own store on November 3, 2026, lowest first. Where a store applies a discount at checkout, the final price is used. Where two machines cost the same, a new machine ranks above a certified rebuilt one. The order therefore runs Aura, F2, P2S, Pro rebuilt, P3, Pro HD. It is set by price alone, so it says nothing about quality, and the verdicts use the specs.

What was compared: six machines in three price bands, from each vendor's own product, spec and support pages, read on its US store on November 3, 2026. Compared from vendor specs and pricing pages, not tested hands-on. Affiliate status played no part in the order. Prices are re-checked when a sale ends, and the next full check is due December 3, 2026.

Sources

All read November 3, 2026.

Still choosing? Start with the bed you need: the Aura or the F2 for small work, the P2S for an enclosed CO2, and the P3 or Pro HD for large sheets.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime

Want to do this faster with AI?

These guides cover the AI tools and workflows that save hours on writing, studying, and research.

Or browse Toolradar for 9,000+ AI tools across 400+ categories with verified pricing.

Related Articles
Nov 3, 2026

Anker vs Ugreen vs Belkin (2026): Which Desk Kit Costs Less

Anker, Ugreen and Belkin on one desk kit: a 100W GaN charger, a 10,000 mAh Qi2 power bank and a Qi2 3-in-1 station, priced on each US store on November 3, 2026.

Nov 3, 2026

TP-Link Deco vs eero (2026): Three Matched Tiers With Prices and Subscription Costs

TP-Link Deco vs eero in three matched tiers, with US 3-pack prices read November 3, 2026, specs, warranties and 12- and 24-month subscription costs.

Nov 3, 2026

Bambu Lab vs Prusa vs Creality 3D Printers (2026): Prices and 24-Month Cost

Bambu Lab P2S, Creality K2 and Prusa CORE One+ compared on US prices read November 3, 2026, with specs, warranty and a 24-month cost per printer.