Best Smart Thermostat in 2026: Five That Work Without a C-Wire, Ranked by Price

Best Smart Thermostat in 2026: Five That Work Without a C-Wire, Ranked by Price

Disclosure: no link on this page earns Dupple a commission today. Rankings follow the criteria in the methodology.

Updated November 4, 2026: prices re-checked on each vendor's US store or pricing page. Compared from vendor specs and pricing pages, not tested hands-on.

Nest Thermostat ($89.99 sale, ends November 8), Sensi smart thermostat ($129.99) and ecobee Smart Thermostat Enhanced ($199.99) lead the five smart thermostats that pass our three gates and need no C-wire in most homes, as of November 4, 2026. Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) ($219.99 sale) and ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium ($259.99) follow. The order is the US device price, lowest first.

Dupple card with five smart thermostats in ranking order: Nest Thermostat $89.99 sale, Sensi smart thermostat $129.99, ecobee Enhanced $199.99, Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) $219.99 sale, ecobee Premium $259.99.
Dupple card: the five picks in ranking order, prices read November 4, 2026

Dupple data: computed from the US figures on each vendor's own pages on November 4, 2026. Five thermostats pass our three gates out of 23 listings read across six brands, and no model on the list needs a paid plan to heat and cool the home.

The five at a glance

The table lists the five picks in ranking order, with the wording each vendor uses, shortened.

The five picks in ranking order, with the US figure, plan, sensor, voice assistant and wiring as each vendor states them (read November 4, 2026)
Thermostat Device (Nov 4, 2026) Plan needed for control Sensor in the box Voice built in Wiring and heat pump, as stated Best for
Nest Thermostat $89.99 sale, ends Nov 8 (regular $129.99) None read No; Google's grid says not compatible with the Nest Temperature Sensor Not on the page read Power Sharing, no C-wire in most homes; heat pump may need a Power Connector or C-wire A Nest with no C-wire in a home that is not a heat pump
Sensi smart thermostat $129.99, Available on Sensi's shop page None read Not confirmed Not stated; works with Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings C-wire not required in most applications; heat pump 4H/2C needs a C-wire Multi-stage conventional systems
ecobee Smart Thermostat Enhanced $199.99 Core security plan $0 (included with devices) No, SmartSensor sold separately Not stated; works with Alexa, HomeKit, SmartThings Power Extender Kit in the box; heat pump with 1 stage aux A heat pump with no C-wire and no voice need
Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) $219.99 sale, ends Nov 8 (regular $279.99) None read Yes, one Nest Temperature Sensor (2nd gen) Not found on the page read Power Sharing, no C-wire in most homes; heat pump may need a Power Connector or C-wire A Nest with a sensor in the box
ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium $259.99 Core security plan $0; Plus and Advanced optional Yes, one SmartSensor Yes, Siri or Alexa built in Power Extender Kit in the box; heat pump with 2 stage aux A sensor, voice and a security option in one unit

How the order is set

Three gates come first, then one order. A model has to pass all three.

  • Gate one, buyable today: sold on the brand's own US store, with a US price read on November 4, 2026, shown as available, and not marked discontinued. Amazon's own listing counts for Amazon's device.
  • Gate two, the right system: a 24-volt thermostat for forced-air, heat pump or boiler systems. Line-voltage baseboard controllers and in-floor or mini-split units fail this gate.
  • Gate three, no C-wire needed out of the box: the box includes a power adapter or extender, or the vendor says a C-wire is not needed in most systems.

The models that pass are ordered by the device price read on November 4, lowest first. None of them needs a paid plan to run heating and cooling on the pages we read, so the device price is also the 24-month figure. Optional plans appear in the cost section and do not move a place. When two devices cost the same, the one with no sale price ranks first. A sale counts when its printed end date is November 7 or later; both sales here end November 8, so they decide the order, and the sale price is the one ranked. At most two numbered picks per brand; a brand's other models that pass are listed below the ranking with their score and price.

Two models fall out on gate one and gate three. Amazon's $79.99 Smart Thermostat says C-wire required, so it sits in the box below the ranking. Sensi Lite is not buyable today: Sensi's shop page shows $89.99 with Not Available and no add-to-cart button. If your home has a C-wire, the box is the place to look first.

Which costs least over 12 and 24 months?

Each pick is priced at its device figure for both periods, because none needs a paid plan to run heating and cooling. The table gives the optional plans from ecobee's security plans page and Google's US product page, read November 4, 2026.

Dupple data: computed from vendor plan pages on November 4, 2026.

Optional ecobee and Google Home Premium plans over 12 and 24 months, billed monthly or yearly (Dupple data: computed from vendor plan pages on November 4, 2026)
Plan Monthly billing, 12 months Yearly billing, 12 months Monthly billing, 24 months Yearly billing, 24 months
ecobee Smart Security Core $0 $0 $0 $0
ecobee Smart Security Plus $60 $50 $120 $100
ecobee Smart Security Advanced $120 $100 $240 $200
Google Home Premium Standard $120 $100 $240 $200
Google Home Premium Advanced $240 $200 $480 $400

Two add-ons sit outside the plans. ecobee's SmartSensor for rooms comes as a 2-pack at $99.99, and its SmartSensor for doors and windows as a 2-pack at $79.99, both on ecobee's sensors pages read on November 4, 2026. The Power Extender Kit for ecobee Essential is $24.99 on its own page. We did not read a price for Google's Nest Temperature Sensor or for the Nest Power Connector, so those two are unpriced here.

Many utilities pay a rebate on a smart thermostat, and the amount depends on where you live. Check your utility's rebate page before you buy. This page gives no rebate figure, because we did not verify one for any utility.

ecobee vs Nest: the comparison people search for

Both brands have two picks in the ranking, so the pairing is useful.

Learning Thermostat against Premium. The Nest is on sale until November 8, after which it costs $20 more than the Premium. Both include one room sensor. Only the ecobee Premium has a built-in voice assistant on the pages we read. Both need a C-wire or extra part for some heat pumps, and ecobee ships its Power Extender Kit in the box.

Nest Thermostat against Enhanced. The gap is $110 at the sale price. The Enhanced ships with its Power Extender Kit and lists heat pumps with one stage of aux heat. Pick the Nest Thermostat if the $110 matters more and your home is not a heat pump without a C-wire.

Neither brand needs a subscription on the pages we read. Pick on the hardware first.

The five, in ranking order

1. Nest Thermostat: on sale until November 8

Dupple spec card for Nest Thermostat: $89.99 sale, ends 11/08 (read Nov 4, 2026), Power Sharing in most homes, works with 85% of systems, heat pump may need a C-wire.
Dupple spec card

Best for: a Nest in a home with no C-wire that is not a heat pump, at the lowest Nest device figure.

Price, read November 4, 2026: $89.99 on Google's US store, with the banner "Save $40 on Nest Thermostat. Ends 11/08." The regular price is listed on the same page. The sale ends after November 7, so the sale price decides this place.

Decisive specs: works with 85% of systems, according to Google. Google says Power Sharing means no C-wire is required in most homes, from the FAQ on the Learning Thermostat page, which says "Like all Nest thermostats". Google's pages also say some systems, including heat pumps, may need a Nest Power Connector or C-wire.

The catch: Google's comparison grid says the Nest Thermostat is "Not compatible with the Nest Temperature Sensor", so no sensor comes in the box, and Google's grid says the Nest Temperature Sensor is not compatible with it. Heat pumps may need the Power Connector, whose price we did not read. We did not find a built-in voice assistant on the page read.

Google's Nest Thermostat page.

2. Sensi smart thermostat: multi-stage and heat pump listed

Dupple spec card for Sensi smart thermostat: $129.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), no C-wire for most systems, heat pump 4H/2C, Alexa, Google Home, SmartThings.
Dupple spec card

Best for: a multi-stage conventional system with two stages of heat and two of cooling, the 2H/2C multi-stage setup this model's table lists.

Price, read November 4, 2026: $129.99 on Sensi's shop page, shown as Available with an add-to-cart button. The comparison table prints the same $129.99 MSRP.

Decisive specs: System type lists single 1H/1C, multi-stage 2H/2C and heat pump 4H/2C. The comparison table lists room sensors as a feature row. Works with Alexa, Google Home and Samsung SmartThings.

The catch: the comparison table's asterisk says heat-only, cool-only and heat pump systems require a C-wire, so a heat pump without one is not a fit. We did not confirm which room sensors work with this model, and the page read does not state a built-in voice assistant.

Sensi's shop page, with Sensi's comparison table for the system and wiring rows.

3. ecobee Smart Thermostat Enhanced: $199.99, Power Extender Kit in the box

Dupple spec card for ecobee Smart Thermostat Enhanced: $199.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), Power Extender Kit in the box, heat pump with 1 stage aux, SmartSensor sold separately.
Dupple spec card

Best for: a heat pump with no C-wire where a voice assistant is not needed.

Price, read November 4, 2026: $199.99 on ecobee's US category page, with "Add to bag". ecobee's banner on the same day says only "Black Friday is coming", with no sale price or end date.

Decisive specs: the Power Extender Kit is in the box, and ecobee says it allows installation in most homes without a C-wire. ecobee lists heat pumps with 2H/2C plus one stage of aux heat, and works with Apple HomeKit, Amazon Alexa, Samsung SmartThings and IFTTT.

The catch: there is no SmartSensor in the box, and ecobee says the sensors are sold separately. Its room sensors are priced at $99.99 for a 2-pack. The page read does not state a built-in voice assistant for the Enhanced.

ecobee's Enhanced page.

4. Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen): one sensor in the box

Dupple spec card for Nest Learning Thermostat: 4th gen, $219.99 sale, ends 11/08 (read Nov 4, 2026), one Nest Temperature Sensor in box, Power Sharing in most homes, works with 85% of systems.
Dupple spec card

Best for: a Nest with a room sensor in the box and no C-wire in most homes.

Price, read November 4, 2026: $219.99 on Google's US store, with the banner "Save $60 on Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen). Ends 11/08." The regular price is $279.99 on the same page. The sale ends after November 7, so the sale price decides this place.

Decisive specs: one Nest Temperature Sensor (2nd gen) is in the box, and up to six can be added, per Google. Works with 85% of systems. Power Sharing means no C-wire in most homes, per the FAQ "Like all Nest thermostats".

The catch: Google says heating-only, cooling-only, zone-controlled and heat pump systems may require a Nest Power Connector or C-wire. We did not read the Power Connector price. The page we read does not list a built-in voice assistant, and the price is a sale that ends November 8.

Google's Learning Thermostat (4th gen) page.

5. ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium: $259.99, sensor, voice and a security option

Dupple spec card for ecobee Smart Thermostat Premium: $259.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), SmartSensor and Power Extender in box, Siri or Alexa built in, security plan optional, Core $0.
Dupple spec card

Best for: a heat pump with no C-wire, a room sensor and a built-in voice assistant in one unit.

Price, read November 4, 2026: $259.99 on ecobee's US category page and on the Premium page, with "Add to bag". No sale is printed.

Decisive specs: one SmartSensor and the Power Extender Kit are in the box. Siri or Alexa is built in, as ecobee states. ecobee lists heat pumps with 2H/2C plus two stages of aux heat, and its Premium page says it works with multistage and dual-fuel heat pumps. The core security plan is $0 with all devices, and Plus and Advanced are optional.

The catch: it is the most expensive of the five, and its door and window security features need a Smart Security plan, shown in the cost table.

ecobee's Premium page.

Also worth a look: outside the ranking

Each line gives the gate that fails and the price read on November 4, 2026. Nothing here is ranked.

  • Amazon Smart Thermostat, $79.99 (sold by Amazon.com): fails gate three, because Amazon's listing says C-wire required. Amazon's product page.
  • Amazon Smart Thermostat with C-Wire Power Adapter bundle, $115.37 (In Stock, read November 4, 2026): its listing includes the adapter and says compatible with most 24V systems, which would pass gates two and three. Gate one is unconfirmed: the seller and buy-box price were not in the page text we could read, so it is not ranked. Amazon's bundle page.
  • Sensi Lite smart thermostat (MSRP $89.99): fails gate one. Sensi's shop page shows Not Available with no add-to-cart button, read November 4, 2026 at about 10:00 CET. Sensi's Lite shop page.
  • Sensi Touch 2 smart thermostat, $209.99: fails gate one (its shop page shows Not Available) and gate three (Sensi's comparison table says C-wire required for all systems). Sensi's Touch 2 page.
  • ecobee Smart Thermostat Essential, $139.99: fails gate three, because its Power Extender Kit is sold separately at $24.99 and ecobee says some homes need it. ecobee's Essential page.
  • Honeywell Home X8S with room sensor, $259.99: fails gate three; Honeywell's page says a C-wire is required, and homes without one may need a compatible adapter. Honeywell's X8S page.
  • Honeywell Home X8S, $239.99: fails gate three on the same wording. Honeywell's X8S page.
  • Honeywell Home X7S, $199.99: fails gate three; the page says a hardwired C-wire is required. Honeywell's X7S page.
  • Honeywell Home X7B, $149.99: fails gate three; the page says a hardwired C-wire connection is required. Honeywell's X7B page.
  • Honeywell Home RTH9585WF Wi-Fi Smart Color, $179.99: fails gate three; the page says a C-wire is required. Honeywell's RTH9585WF page.
  • Honeywell Home T5 Wi-Fi Smart, $109.99: fails gate three; the page says a C-wire or a compatible C-wire power adapter is required. Honeywell's T5 page.
  • Honeywell Home X2S, $84.99: fails gate three; the page says a C-wire is required, and homes without one may need a compatible adapter. Honeywell's X2S page.
  • Mysa Smart Thermostat for Central Cooling and Heating, $129: fails gate three. Mysa's product page says "24 VAC, 60 Hz; C-wire required", and the C-Wire Power Adapter is sold separately at $25. Mysa's product page.
  • Mysa Smart Thermostat for Electric Baseboard Heaters - LITE, $99: fails gate two, because the page describes it as built for high-voltage electric baseboard heaters. Read through r.jina.ai on November 4, 2026.
  • Mysa for mini-split heat pumps, $139, and Mysa for electric in-floor heating, $199: fail gate two. Their pages describe ductless and radiant floor systems.

Dropped before the box: Honeywell's T9 is marked discontinued, the X2P is a 7-day programmable rather than smart, Google's category lists no Thermostat E, and ecobee's refurbished units are not new.

How to choose

  • No C-wire, a multi-stage conventional system, and no voice needed: Sensi smart thermostat at $129.99.
  • No C-wire, a heat pump, and no voice needed: ecobee Enhanced at $199.99. Its Power Extender Kit is in the box and its page lists heat pumps.
  • No C-wire, a heat pump, a room sensor and voice in one unit: ecobee Premium at $259.99.
  • A room sensor in the box, Google's ecosystem, and a sale you can catch before November 8: Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen).
  • A C-wire is already in the wall: the box below holds Amazon's $79.99 Smart Thermostat, the lowest-priced model we read, and the Honeywell Home models, which all say a C-wire is required. Check your wires before you buy.
  • Baseboard heaters: none of the five is built for line voltage. The Mysa baseboard unit is the one we read for that job, at $99 on getmysa.com.

FAQ

What is the best smart thermostat for a heat pump?

For a heat pump with no C-wire, the two ecobee models are the clearest fit, because both ship with the Power Extender Kit in the box. ecobee Enhanced ($199.99) lists heat pumps with one stage of aux heat, and ecobee Premium ($259.99) lists two. The Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) and the Nest Thermostat both say a heat pump may need a Power Connector or C-wire. Sensi's standard model lists heat pump 4H/2C and says heat-pump systems require a C-wire.

Does a smart thermostat need a C-wire?

Often not. ecobee Premium and Enhanced ship a Power Extender Kit, and Google and Sensi say a C-wire is not required in most systems. Google and Sensi both carve out heat pumps. Amazon's Smart Thermostat, the Honeywell Home models read, Mysa's central model and Sensi's Touch 2 say a C-wire is required. The common wire sits at the thermostat, and the vendor's compatibility checker has the final word for your system.

What is the best thermostat for baseboard heaters?

Baseboard heaters run on line voltage, so a 24-volt thermostat does not fit them. None of the five picks is built for that job. Mysa's Smart Thermostat for Electric Baseboard Heaters - LITE is built for high-voltage baseboard heaters, fan-forced heaters and convectors, at $99 on getmysa.com, read through r.jina.ai on November 4, 2026. Mysa states no subscriptions.

Is ecobee or Nest better?

Neither brand wins on every point. ecobee Premium is the one model here with a sensor and built-in Siri or Alexa at $259.99. The Nest Learning Thermostat (4th gen) is on sale, and its sale ends November 8, after which it is $279.99.

Do smart thermostats need a subscription?

Not to run heating and cooling on the pages we read. ecobee's Smart Security Core is $0 with devices. Plus is $5 a month and Advanced is $10 a month, with yearly plans in the cost table. Google Home Premium Standard costs $10 a month. Mysa says no subscriptions, ever.

Can I get a rebate on a smart thermostat?

Many utilities offer one, and the amount changes by region and by program. Check your own utility's rebate page. This page does not print a rebate figure, because we did not verify one.

Methodology

We read each brand's own US store or pricing page on November 4, 2026, in US dollars. We did not use a third-party retailer price and did not test any thermostat hands-on.

Our roster covered six brands and 23 listings: ecobee (three models), Google Nest (two), Amazon (two listings of one device), Honeywell Home (nine models read: seven smart models on the first page of its thermostat category, plus one non-smart model and one discontinued model; its second page was not read), Mysa (four) and Sensi (three). Five passed the three gates.

The cap is at most two numbered picks per brand: ecobee and Google Nest have two each, and Sensi has one, because its Lite model is not buyable today. The list has five picks, not six to nine, because we did not lower any gate to fill it. No paid placement decides the order, and no affiliate arrangement exists for any model on this page today.

The ranking does not measure how well a thermostat keeps a room comfortable, its accuracy or its app quality. We did not measure those.

Sources

For the other devices a smart home adds first, read the best smart lock and best home security camera guides. For lighting on the same assistants, see Govee against Philips Hue.

The five picks install without a C-wire in most homes, ranked by device price. Check the wire at your thermostat before you buy.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime

Want to do this faster with AI?

These guides cover the AI tools and workflows that save hours on writing, studying, and research.

Or browse Toolradar for 9,000+ AI tools across 400+ categories with verified pricing.

Related Articles
Nov 4, 2026

Best Bookshelf Speakers in 2026: Nine Pairs Ranked by Cost to Play

Nine bookshelf pairs ranked by cost to play, with US prices read on each vendor's store on November 4, 2026. Passive pairs carry one amplifier's price.

Nov 4, 2026

Best Baby Monitor in 2026: Nine Compared on 24-Month Cost

Nine baby monitor sets ranked by 24-month cost, the set price plus any plan the vendor requires, with US prices read on each brand's store on November 4, 2026.

Nov 4, 2026

Best Sunrise Alarm Clock in 2026: Six Compared by US Price

Six sunrise alarms ranked by US device price, with sunrise, sound, radio and Hatch+ costs over 12 and 24 months. US prices read November 4, 2026.