Best Smart Lock 2026: 7 Front-Door Locks Compared on Price, Unlock and Battery

Best Smart Lock 2026: 7 Front-Door Locks Compared on Price, Unlock and Battery
Key facts7 locks compared: Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi, Schlage Encode Plus, Lockin Veno…
  • Updated: November 4, 2026
  • Prices as of: November 2026
  • 7 locks compared: Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi, Schlage Encode Plus, Lockin Veno Solar Finger, ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint, August Wi-Fi Smart Lock, Level Lock, Level Bolt
  • Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi (best for: Fingerprint and keypad with a stated grade): $279.99
  • Schlage Encode Plus (best for: Apple Home Key with a keypad): $329 (MSRP)
  • Lockin Veno Solar Finger (best for: Fingerprint and PIN with Wi-Fi and no bridge): $109.99 (sale price)
  • ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint (best for: A fingerprint lock under $200 with a stated battery life): $179.99 (black), $199.99 (black and satin nickel), list before a 12% cart discount

Disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links that may earn Dupple a commission at no extra cost to you. Rankings follow the criteria in the methodology.

Updated November 4, 2026: prices re-checked on each vendor's US store or pricing page. Compared from vendor specs and pricing pages, not tested hands-on.

Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi ranks first at $279.99, Schlage Encode Plus second at $329 MSRP, and Lockin Veno Solar Finger third at $109.99 (sale price). ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint is fourth at $179.99 list ($158.40 after a 12% cart discount). Prices as of November 2026, read on each vendor's US store. Seven locks are ranked on a nine-point checklist of what each vendor's own page states.

Dupple data: three of the seven pages state a battery life in months (ULTRALOQ, Schlage and August). Only ULTRALOQ's batteries are priced, from its own lithium pack. For Schlage and August the life is stated, but the battery price is not on the vendor page, so the cost table leaves them unpriced.

Dupple card with four smart locks in ranking order: Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch $279.99, Schlage Encode Plus $329 MSRP, Lockin Veno Solar Finger $109.99 sale price, ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint.
Dupple card: the top four in ranking order, prices read November 4, 2026

The seven smart locks at a glance

The searches behind this page ask about fingerprint entry, keyless entry, Apple Home Key, and fitting a lock without changing the deadbolt. The table lists all seven locks in ranking order, with the points each one earns on the checklist in the methodology.

The seven locks in ranking order: points out of nine, opening methods, remote setup, grade and battery, as each vendor states them (read November 4, 2026)
Lock Price (Nov 4, 2026) Points (of 9) Ways to open on the lock Remote setup Grade and battery (vendor claim) Best for
Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi $279.99 7 Fingerprint, keypad code Built-in Wi-Fi, 2.4 GHz ANSI/BHMA Grade 2; 4 AA alkaline, included, no life stated Fingerprint and keypad with a stated grade
Schlage Encode Plus $329 (MSRP) 7 Touchscreen keypad, Apple Home Key Built-in Wi-Fi, no accessories needed ANSI/BHMA Grade AAA; 4 AA, up to six months Apple Home Key with a keypad
Lockin Veno Solar Finger $109.99 (sale price) 6 Fingerprint, PIN code, mechanical key Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge ANSI Grade 3; solar charged, no life in months Fingerprint and PIN with Wi-Fi and no bridge
ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint $179.99 (black), $199.99 (black and satin nickel), list before a 12% cart discount 6 Fingerprint, keypad code Built-in Wi-Fi, no hub (Apple Home edition) No grade number; up to 8 months alkaline, up to 1 year lithium A fingerprint lock under $200 with a stated battery life
August Wi-Fi Smart Lock $199.99 (lock only) 5 None on the lock; keypad is a bundle Built-in Wi-Fi, no bridge No grade stated; 2 CR123, up to 3 months Renters and a fit over the existing deadbolt
Level Lock $249 4 None on the lock; keypad sold separately Matter-over-Thread hub, or $79 Wi-Fi bridge ANSI Grade 1/A, BHMA AAA; CR2, no life stated Apple Home Key with a Grade 1/A rating
Level Bolt $199 2 None on the lock; keypad optional Matter-over-Thread hub, or $79 Wi-Fi bridge No grade stated; CR2, no life stated A retrofit that keeps your deadbolt

The seven, in ranking order

1. Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi: best for fingerprint and keypad entry with a stated grade

Dupple spec card for Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi: $279.99, fingerprint and keypad codes, ANSI/BHMA Grade 2, DoorSense auto-lock.
Dupple spec card

$279.99 on Yale's US store (shopyalehome.com), read November 4, 2026.

The page lists fingerprint touch, keypad codes, an optional auto-unlocking feature, a backup key, and virtual keys shared in the Yale Access app. Auto lock uses DoorSense, which locks the door once it detects the door is closed. The page says the lock is tested to ANSI/BHMA Grade 2 and carries a lifetime warranty. Its spec table lists 4 AA alkaline batteries, included, and no battery life. The Wi-Fi model needs a 2.4 GHz network.

Pros: fingerprint and keypad codes on the lock, a stated ANSI/BHMA grade, a door sensor for auto lock, and built-in Wi-Fi with no bridge. It ties for the top score on the checklist.

Cons: it costs $100 more than the ULTRALOQ black finish. No battery life is stated, so its batteries are not priced in the cost table. Apple Home Key is not stated for this keyed model. The lock replaces your deadbolt, so it is not a retrofit.

Best for: a homeowner who wants fingerprint and keypad entry with a grade on the label, and is replacing the deadbolt anyway.

Yale's Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi page

2. Schlage Encode Plus: best for an Apple Home Key lock with a keypad and AAA grade

Dupple spec card for Schlage Encode Plus: $329, touchscreen keypad with 100 codes, Apple Home Key, ANSI/BHMA Grade AAA.
Dupple spec card

$329 MSRP on Schlage's Encode Plus page (schlage.com/en/home/smart-locks/encode-plus.html), read November 4, 2026.

The page states a touchscreen keypad with up to 100 access codes, built-in Wi-Fi that needs "no additional accessories," Apple home keys that open with an iPhone or Apple Watch, and custom auto-lock settings. It cites ANSI/BHMA A156.40-2015 Grade AAA in security, durability and finish. It runs on four AA batteries, included, for "up to six months of battery life with typical use," and gives a 3-year electronics warranty.

Pros: a touchscreen keypad with 100 codes, Apple Home Key, Wi-Fi with no accessory, a AAA grade, a stated battery life, and auto lock. It ties for the top score on the checklist.

Cons: at $329 MSRP it is the highest list price in this list. The page states no door sensor, and no fingerprint reader. Its batteries are not priced in the cost table, because the page gives the life but no battery price.

Best for: an Apple Home Key owner who wants a keypad lock from a large brand with a AAA grade.

Schlage's Encode Plus product page

3. Lockin Veno Solar Finger: best for fingerprint and PIN entry with Wi-Fi and no bridge

Dupple spec card for Lockin Veno Solar Finger: $109.99 sale price, fingerprint and PIN code, ANSI Grade 3, built-in Wi-Fi.
Dupple spec card

$109.99 sale price on Lockin's US store (lockin.com), read November 4, 2026. The page prints no end date for the sale. The ranking uses this price; at the struck $129.99 it would still rank third.

The page lists fingerprint recognition for up to 50 fingerprints, a PIN code with one-time codes, app control, a mechanical key and voice control. It states built-in Wi-Fi with no separate bridge, auto-lock from 5 seconds to 30 minutes, ANSI Grade 3 certification and IP53 rating. The battery is a built-in perovskite solar panel with a lithium battery, and the page gives no battery life in months or years. It names no Apple Home Key.

Pros: a fingerprint and a PIN on the lock, built-in Wi-Fi with no bridge, a stated grade, and auto lock. It scores 6 of 9.

Cons: the page states no door sensor and no Apple Home Key. The page says the solar panel needs about 1,000 lux to start charging and is not recommended for covered or heavily shaded doors. The sale has no printed end date.

Best for: a front door with regular daylight that needs fingerprint and PIN entry, and Wi-Fi without a bridge.

Lockin's Veno Solar Finger page

4. ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint: best for a fingerprint lock under $200 with a stated battery life

ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint deadbolt, black finish, with the fingerprint reader and keypad on the front.
Image: ULTRALOQ

$179.99 list for the black finish, and $199.99 for the black and satin nickel option, on ULTRALOQ's US store, read November 4, 2026. Its cart takes an automatic 12% off ($158.40 and $176.00), no end date printed. Both Apple Home finishes were in stock on that read. The Matter over Thread edition at $199.99 was out of stock.

The page lists a fingerprint, a keypad code, the smartphone app, Apple Watch, auto-unlocking and a physical key as ways in. The Apple Home edition uses built-in Wi-Fi on the 2.4 GHz band and needs no hub. It takes 8 AA batteries, and states up to 8 months with Wi-Fi on alkaline cells, or up to 1 year on lithium cells. It says the lock is built to BHMA and ANSI standards but gives no grade number. ULTRALOQ's door sensor, $18, is sold for its U-Bolt models, not for this lock.

Pros: a fingerprint and keypad on the lock, built-in Wi-Fi with no bridge, auto lock, and a battery life stated in months.

Cons: the page says it is not designed for glass or sliding doors, mortise locks or multi-point locks. On its own alkaline figure of up to 8 months, 12 months of use means about 1.5 sets of batteries. The Matter over Thread edition needs a Thread hub. The page gives no ANSI grade number, unlike the Yale, Schlage and Lockin pages.

Best for: a front door that needs fingerprint and keypad entry, built-in Wi-Fi and no bridge, for under $200.

See the Bolt Fingerprint on Amazon Opens Amazon; the price on Amazon may differ. The price above is ULTRALOQ's own US store price, read November 4, 2026.

5. August Wi-Fi Smart Lock: best for renters and a fit over the existing deadbolt

Dupple spec card for August Wi-Fi Smart Lock: $199.99, built-in Wi-Fi with no bridge, DoorSense door sensor, up to 3 months battery.
Dupple spec card

$199.99 for the lock alone on August's US store, read November 4, 2026, with no compare-at price. A 50% "Early Black Friday" code (BFCM50) is shown too; its only printed end date is last year's, so it is not used.

The page says the lock has built-in Wi-Fi and needs no additional bridge. It attaches to the inside of the door over your existing deadbolt, so you keep your original keys, and the page calls it renter friendly with minimal assembly. DoorSense tells you whether the door is closed and locked. Auto-Lock locks the door after it closes, or after a set time of up to 30 minutes. The box includes 2 CR123 batteries. August's support FAQ states a battery life of up to 3 months under typical conditions with Wi-Fi on.

Pros: built-in Wi-Fi with no bridge, a fit over the existing deadbolt, original keys kept, a DoorSense door sensor, auto lock, and a battery life stated in months.

Cons: the base lock has no fingerprint and no keypad, so code entry and fingerprint access are extra bundles. The page states no grade. It names no Apple Home Key; it names Apple Watch as the wearable way in. The battery price is not on the vendor page, so its batteries are not priced.

Best for: renters and anyone who wants Wi-Fi with no bridge and the original deadbolt left in place.

August's Wi-Fi Smart Lock page

6. Level Lock: best for Apple Home Key with a stated ANSI Grade 1/A

Dupple spec card for Level Lock: $249, ANSI Grade 1/A and BHMA AAA, Apple Home Key, Matter hub or $79 bridge.
Dupple spec card

$249 on Level's US site, read November 4, 2026. Remote access needs a Matter-over-Thread hub, or the Level Connect Wi-Fi Bridge at $79, which Level sells separately.

The page states ANSI Grade 1/A and BHMA AAA certification. It lists access by Level app, phone, voice or automations, and by home keys on an iPhone or Apple Watch. It has a physical key, auto lock and auto-unlocking, and a CR2 lithium battery. The page gives no battery life.

Pros: Apple Home Key, a stated ANSI Grade 1/A, auto lock, and a physical key as a backup.

Cons: no fingerprint, and the keypad is an extra. Remote control needs a hub or the $79 bridge, so the remote setup costs $328 before batteries. The page does not state a door sensor for this lock.

Best for: someone who wants Apple Home Key and a grade on the label, and already runs a Matter-over-Thread hub or will buy the bridge.

Level's Level Lock page

7. Level Bolt: best for a retrofit that keeps your deadbolt and keys

Dupple spec card for Level Bolt: $199, retrofits your existing lock, CR2 lithium battery, auto lock and auto-unlocking.
Dupple spec card

$199 on Level's US site, read November 4, 2026. The Level Connect Wi-Fi Bridge is needed for remote features unless you run a Matter-over-Thread hub.

Level describes the Bolt as an invisible retrofit that keeps your existing hardware and keys. The page lists auto lock and auto-unlocking, and a CR2 lithium battery, with no battery life stated. It names no ANSI grade and no Apple Home Key on the Bolt page. A keypad is optional.

Pros: a $199 price, auto lock, your keys and hardware kept, and no keypad needed.

Cons: it scores 2 of 9, the lowest on this page. The page states no grade, no Apple Home Key and no door sensor. Remote control needs a hub or the $79 bridge, so the working cost is $278 before batteries.

Best for: a homeowner who wants to keep the deadbolt and keys, does not need a keypad, and does not need a stated grade.

Level's Level Bolt page

What each lock costs over 12 and 24 months

The model is the lock, plus any bridge bought once, plus batteries only where the vendor states a life and prices a battery. Only ULTRALOQ meets both tests: its lithium 8-pack is $15.99 on its US store, read November 4, 2026.

The arithmetic, once. ULTRALOQ at 12 months: $179.99 for the lock, plus one lithium set at $15.99, is $195.98. At 24 months: $179.99 plus two sets at $15.99 each, which is $31.98, is $211.97. For the other six, the batteries are marked not priced. None of the seven pages states a required monthly fee.

Dupple data: computed from vendor prices on November 4, 2026.

Ownership over 12 and 24 months: lock, bridge bought once and batteries where the vendor prices them, US figures read November 4, 2026
Lock Lock (Nov 4, 2026) Bridge, bought once Batteries 12 months 24 months
Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi $279.99 None stated Not priced: no life stated (4 AA alkaline, included) $279.99 plus batteries Same, plus batteries
Schlage Encode Plus $329 (MSRP) None stated Life stated (up to six months, 4 AA); battery price not on the vendor page $329 MSRP plus batteries Same, plus batteries
Lockin Veno Solar Finger $109.99 (sale price) None needed Not priced: solar charged, no life stated $109.99 plus batteries Same, plus batteries
ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint $179.99 None needed $15.99 a year, lithium, priced $195.98 $211.97
August Wi-Fi Smart Lock $199.99 None needed Life stated (up to 3 months, 2 CR123); battery price not on the vendor page $199.99 plus batteries Same, plus batteries
Level Lock $249 $79 Not priced: no life stated (CR2) $328 plus batteries Same, plus batteries
Level Bolt $199 $79 Not priced: no life stated (CR2) $278 plus batteries Same, plus batteries

Verdict: ULTRALOQ is the only row with batteries priced, so its $211.97 at 24 months is the one full total here.

How to choose

  • You want a fingerprint on the lock: the Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi, the Lockin Veno Solar Finger or the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint. All three state a fingerprint and a code entry on the lock.
  • You want Apple Home Key: the Schlage Encode Plus or the Level Lock. The Yale, Lockin and ULTRALOQ pages do not state Home Key.
  • You rent, or you want to keep the outside deadbolt and keys: the August Wi-Fi Smart Lock installs inside over the existing deadbolt, or the Level Bolt, which is a retrofit.
  • You have no hub and want no bridge: the Yale, Schlage, Lockin, ULTRALOQ Apple Home edition and August all state built-in Wi-Fi. The Level locks need a Matter-over-Thread hub or the Level bridge for remote control.
  • You want a stated grade: the Yale states Grade 2, the Schlage states AAA, the Lockin states ANSI Grade 3 and the Level Lock states 1/A. The ULTRALOQ, August and Level Bolt pages give no grade number.

Wi-Fi locks need a 2.4 GHz network, as the Yale, Schlage and ULTRALOQ pages say. For router reach, see our TP-Link Deco vs eero comparison.

FAQ

What is the best smart lock for a front door in 2026?

The Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi ranks first here, at $279.99 on Yale's US store, read November 4, 2026. It states a fingerprint, keypad codes, a grade and built-in Wi-Fi. For Apple Home Key, the Schlage Encode Plus ranks second and the Level Lock sixth.

Is there a keyless smart lock with a fingerprint reader?

Yes. The Yale, the Lockin Veno Solar Finger and the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint all state a fingerprint reader on the lock and a code entry. Their prices are in the cards above.

Which smart locks work with Apple Home Key?

The Schlage Encode Plus and the Level Lock both state Apple Home Keys on their pages. The Schlage is $329 MSRP and the Level Lock is $249. The Yale, the Lockin, the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint and the Level Bolt do not state Home Key on the pages we read.

Can I add a smart lock without replacing my deadbolt?

Yes, with two of the seven. The August Wi-Fi Smart Lock installs inside over your existing deadbolt and keeps your original keys. The Level Bolt is a retrofit that keeps your hardware and keys, at $199 plus a $79 bridge for remote control. The other five pages do not describe a retrofit.

Which smart lock is best for renters?

The August Wi-Fi Smart Lock is the best-for pick here for renters. Its page calls it renter friendly with minimal assembly, it attaches inside the door, and it keeps your original keys. It needs no bridge for Wi-Fi control, and the page lists no separate fee for the lock. Check your lease before changing any lock.

Do smart locks need a monthly subscription?

None of the seven pages we read states a required monthly fee for the lock. The Level locks need a Matter-over-Thread hub or the Level Connect Wi-Fi Bridge for remote control, which is a one-time purchase. Read the app terms before you buy, because an app fee can change.

How long do smart lock batteries last?

Three pages state a battery life in months: ULTRALOQ (up to 8 months alkaline, up to 1 year lithium, with Wi-Fi), Schlage (up to six months) and August (up to 3 months). Only ULTRALOQ's batteries are priced, from its own lithium pack. The Yale, Lockin and Level pages state no battery life in months.

Do I need a hub for a Wi-Fi smart lock?

No, for the Wi-Fi models here. The Yale, Schlage, Lockin, ULTRALOQ Apple Home edition and August all state built-in Wi-Fi with no hub or bridge. The Level Lock and the Level Bolt need a Matter-over-Thread hub or the Level bridge for remote features.

See the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint on Amazon Opens Amazon; the price on Amazon may differ. The price shown is ULTRALOQ's own US store price, read November 4, 2026.

Methodology

The seven locks are current models that each brand sold on its US store on November 4, 2026, chosen to cover the searches for a fingerprint lock, a keyless lock, Apple Home Key, a retrofit and a renter's lock. Left out: the ULTRALOQ Bolt Pro and Latch 5 Pro, whose specs we did not read in full; the Level Lock Pro ($349, new on level.co), not scored here; the Lockin Veno Palm Vein locks, which open by palm vein rather than fingerprint; and Philips Home Access, whose homepage still read "Coming Soon" on the read day, so no US price was available.

The ranking rule. Each lock gets one point for each of nine things its own vendor page states: (1) a fingerprint on the lock itself; (2) keypad code entry on the lock, including a PIN; (3) built-in Wi-Fi with no hub or bridge for remote control; (4) Apple Home Key; (5) an ANSI/BHMA grade number or an AAA rating; (6) a battery life in months or years; (7) auto lock; (8) a door sensor; (9) no required monthly fee stated. A thing the page does not state scores zero. Higher points rank first. A tie goes to the lower price needed for remote control, meaning the lock plus any bridge the page requires.

The computation. Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi scores 7 (1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 8, 9). Schlage Encode Plus scores 7 (2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9). The tie breaks to Yale at $279.99 against Schlage's MSRP. Lockin Veno Solar Finger scores 6 (1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9). ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint scores 6 (1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 9). The tie breaks to Lockin on its lower price. August Wi-Fi Smart Lock scores 5 (3, 6, 7, 8, 9). Level Lock scores 4 (4, 5, 7, 9), and Level Bolt scores 2 (7, 9). The Lockin price is a sale price with no end date printed. At its struck $129.99 it still ranks third. No paid placement decides the order.

Prices come from each brand's US store, read November 4, 2026. ULTRALOQ's rank and costs use list price.

Sources

The Yale Assure Lock 2 Touch Keypad with Wi-Fi ranks first here, at $279.99 on Yale's US store, read November 4, 2026. If you want a fingerprint lock with a stated battery life, the ULTRALOQ Bolt Fingerprint, fourth on this page, is $179.99 list in black ($158.40 after the automatic cart discount) on ULTRALOQ's US store. See the Bolt Fingerprint on Amazon Opens Amazon; the price on Amazon may differ.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

TECHPRESSO

Keep up with Tech in 5 minutes

Get the free daily email with the most interesting tech news and insights. The best way to stay ahead in just a few minutes.

No spam · 100% free · Unsubscribe anytime

Want to do this faster with AI?

These guides cover the AI tools and workflows that save hours on writing, studying, and research.

Or browse Toolradar for 9,000+ AI tools across 400+ categories with verified pricing.

Related Articles
Nov 4, 2026

Best Portable Projector 2026: 8 Models Compared

Eight battery projectors ranked on four stated features, with US prices read November 4, 2026. Netflix, focus, keystone and 400 ISO lumens.

Nov 4, 2026

Best 3D Printer for Beginners in 2026: Eight Printers Compared

Eight current 3D printers compared for a first purchase: US prices read November 4, 2026, enclosure, auto-leveling, setup and a 24-month filament cost.

Nov 4, 2026

Best Bone Conduction and Open-Ear Headphones 2026: 8 Compared

Eight bone conduction and open-ear headphones compared on US price, rated battery, water rating and weight, read November 3, 2026.