Aosu Security Camera Review 2026: Prices, Plans, Rivals

Disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links that may earn Dupple a commission at no extra cost to you. Rankings follow the criteria in the methodology.
Updated November 3, 2026: prices re-checked on each vendor's US store or pricing page. Compared from vendor specs and pricing pages, not tested hands-on.
aosu's US store sells three cameras that most buyers compare. As of November 3, 2026, the SolarCam D1 Max and the SolarCam D1 Lite are each $89.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026), and the Video Doorbell R1 Ultra is $135.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026). Ring's Outdoor Cam 2K is $49.99, list $99.99 (Nov 3, 2026; Ring's page says the offer ends November 30). The D1 Max is the pick for one outdoor camera. Event clips record to a microSD card (aosu's D1 Lite listing says the card is not included) with no monthly fee, or to the cloud on Basic at $4.99 a month.

aosu's three cameras at a glance
The table lists the three aosu models in the store's current US lineup, in ranking order. Prices are sale prices read on November 3, 2026.
| Camera | Price | Video and coverage (aosu listing) | Free tier | Plan for cloud event video |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SolarCam D1 Max | $89.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026), one camera (aosuBase not included) | 3K, 360 degree pan and tilt | Live mode, no event recordings | Basic, $4.99 a month |
| SolarCam D1 Lite | $89.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026) | 2K, 360 degree coverage | Live mode, no event recordings | Basic, $4.99 a month |
| Video Doorbell R1 Ultra | $135.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026) | 5MP UHD, 166 degree field of view | Live mode, no event recordings | Basic + Face ID, $8.99 a month |
See the SolarCam D1 Max on aosu's store
How the order was set
The order is fit for one reader: someone who wants one outdoor camera and no monthly bill for live view. The D1 Max ranks first because it costs the same as the D1 Lite today and has the higher resolution, 3K against 2K. The D1 Lite ranks second at the same price with less resolution. The doorbell ranks third because it covers a different job, the front door, and its plan is the priciest on the page.
Cameras, in ranking order
aosu's struck-through $155.99 (D1 Max), $99.99 (D1 Lite) and $199.99 (R1 Ultra) are labelled estimated values, not past prices.
1. SolarCam D1 Max: the pick for one outdoor camera

$89.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026). The listing gives 3K resolution, 360 degree pan and tilt with AI human and vehicle tracking, 400 lumens of light and full-color night vision. aosu's structured data gives the camera a weight of 522.3 g.
- 3K resolution against the D1 Lite's 2K, at the same sale price.
- The camera rotates to follow people and vehicles, according to aosu's listing.
- The listing says "No Monthly Fee", and live view is free on the Standard tier.
Cons: the listing says it records to a microSD card, but does not say whether a card is included or what capacity it takes (the D1 Lite listing says its card is not included). The free cloud tier has no event recordings, so cloud event video needs Basic, which is $59.88 a year. The one-camera price excludes aosuBase.
Best for: one outdoor camera on a yard, drive or side gate, with event clips on a microSD card or on a paid cloud plan.
2. SolarCam D1 Lite: the 2K option at the same price

$89.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026). In stock on November 3, 2026.
The listing gives total 2K 360 degree coverage, an integrated smart alarm, 360 degree smart tracking, 2-way audio and smart home compatibility.
- The same Basic plan as the D1 Max, so the plan costs are identical.
- At today's sale price the two aosu cameras cost the same, so the choice comes down to resolution.
Cons: 2K against the D1 Max's 3K, at the same price, and no battery life figure; it takes a microSD card of 8 to 128 GB, not included. The $10 gap to the struck-through $99.99 is an estimated value, not a discount.
Best for: a 2K view of one entrance, if the listed smart alarm matters more than resolution.
3. Video Doorbell R1 Ultra: the front door, with a base unit

$135.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026). In stock on November 3, 2026.
The listing gives 5MP UHD with enhanced WDR, a 166 degree field of view in a 4:3 frame, detection that combines PIR, radar and AI, and 60 days of loop recording. It says the doorbell runs on battery for up to 180 days or can be hardwired.
- Radar, PIR and AI detection, which aosu says reduces unnecessary alerts.
- Battery power for up to 180 days, or hardwired for continuous power, per the listing.
- Clips store on the aosuBase mini first and stay reachable if the doorbell is damaged, per the listing.
Cons: Local storage runs through the aosuBase mini, a second device whose price we did not read today. Basic + Face ID costs $8.99 a month, or $107.88 a year, the most expensive plan on the page. The 180-day battery figure carries a footnote that duration varies with usage and settings, so treat it as a claim, not a measurement.
Best for: a front door where the Wi-Fi is weak, since the base unit extends the signal according to the listing.
Get the Video Doorbell R1 Ultra
What works without a plan
aosu's plan page calls the free tier Standard, priced at $0.00 a month, with the card reading "Live Mode, No Events Recordings". Live video, two-way talk and customizable detection zones are listed as standard features on the same page. You can watch the camera for free. The "No Monthly Fee" line on the D1 Max listing refers to local microSD recording; the listing does not say whether a card is included.
What the aosu cloud plans add
aosuProtect+ is aosu's cloud plan. The plan page shows three cards. Read on November 3, 2026, they are:
- Standard: $0.00 a month. Live mode, with no event recordings.
- Basic: $4.99 a month. 30 days of unlimited event videos, on top of the standard features.
- Basic + Face ID: $8.99 a month, for video doorbells only.
The plan FAQ says a 30-day free trial starts with a new subscription, after which the card is charged. aosu's product pages say 7 days, its plan FAQ says 30; check the app before you subscribe. The page we read shows no yearly price, so the cost table uses monthly prices only. The page does not say whether one subscription covers several cameras, so the table assumes one Basic plan per camera.
Cost over 12 and 24 months
Dupple data: computed from vendor prices on November 3, 2026. Each monthly plan price is multiplied by 12 and by 24.
| Setup | Total, 12 months | Total, 24 months |
|---|---|---|
| One D1 Max, no plan (microSD card, not stated as included) | $89.99 | $89.99 |
| One D1 Max, Basic | $149.87 | $209.75 |
| Four D1 Max, Basic on each | $599.48 | $839.00 |
| One R1 Ultra, Basic + Face ID | $243.87 | $351.75 |
The arithmetic, once: Basic comes to $59.88 a year and $119.76 over two years. Four single cameras come to $359.96, and four Basic plans are $239.52 a year or $479.04 over two years. $8.99 times 12 is $107.88 and times 24 is $215.76. Each total adds the device price once.
For one camera, the plan more than doubles the two-year bill: $209.75 against the camera alone. For four cameras the plans cost more than the hardware over two years, $479.04 against $359.96. Before you commit to a plan, check the plan prices on aosu's store.
aosu vs Ring: the plan length is the difference
Ring's plan page lists Solo for one device, with up to 180 days of video playback, and its Outdoor Cam 2K is listed at $49.99, list $99.99 (Nov 3, 2026), an offer Ring's page says ends November 30, 2026.
| Item | aosu SolarCam D1 Max | Ring Outdoor Cam 2K |
|---|---|---|
| Camera price | $89.99 sale price (Nov 3, 2026) | $49.99, list $99.99 (Nov 3, 2026) |
| Resolution | 3K | 2K |
| Plan for one camera | Basic, $4.99 a month | Solo, $4.99 a month or $49.99 a year |
| Event history on that plan | 30 days of event video | Up to 180 days of video playback |
| Two-year total, monthly billing: aosu $209.75, Ring $169.75 (Ring annual: $149.97) | $209.75 | $169.75 monthly, or $149.97 annual |
Dupple data: computed from vendor prices on November 3, 2026. The arithmetic, once: aosu $89.99 + (24 × $4.99) = $209.75; Ring $49.99 + (24 × $4.99) = $169.75 on monthly billing; Ring annual $49.99 + (2 × $49.99) = $149.97.

On monthly billing Ring costs $40.00 less over 24 months, and it keeps six times the history on its cheapest plan. The aosu camera has the higher resolution and costs $40 more up front, so Ring is the cheaper choice if history matters more than the 3K image. Ring's plans are on its plan page, and they renew until they are canceled.
aosu vs Eufy: a cheaper plan, a dearer camera
eufy's cloud backup page lists Basic at $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year, covering one device with videos kept for 30 days. Plus costs $13.99 a month or $139.99 a year and covers all devices. On eufy's US outdoor collection page, the SoloCam E50 is listed at $229.99 (Nov 3, 2026).
| Item | aosu | eufy |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest event-video plan (scope not stated) | Basic, $4.99 a month | Basic, $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year |
| Event video kept | 30 days | 30 days |
| All-device plan | Not stated on the plan page we read | Plus, $13.99 a month or $139.99 a year |

eufy's cheapest event-video plan is $1 a month less than aosu's Basic, but the SoloCam E50 costs $140 more than the D1 Max at these prices. eufy's outdoor page says its eufyCam and SoloCam series offer outdoor cameras "that don't require a monthly fee". For a house with several eufy cameras, price the Plus plan, since the aosu plan page we read does not say whether one subscription covers several cameras. eufy's cloud backup page and its outdoor camera range have the full lists.
aosu vs Reolink: footage on a card, or in the cloud
Reolink's Go PT Ultra is listed at $229.99 on Reolink's US product page on November 3, 2026, for the variant "1 Camera (White) + 1 Solar Panel 2 (White) + SIM Card". Another variant, "1 Camera (Gray) + 1 Solar Panel 3 (Black)", is $193.99, list $249.99. The page describes a 4G LTE camera that runs on a battery, and it says the camera saves clips to a microSD card of up to 128GB. It lists Reolink Cloud as "only available in some countries".

The Go PT Ultra is a 4G battery camera, a different class from the D1 Max, so read this section as a storage comparison, not a price comparison. We could not read Reolink's cloud plan prices today, so none appear in the cost table. What matters here is the card. The D1 Max and D1 Lite also take a microSD card; the Go PT Ultra takes up to 128 GB. The product page is here.
Who should buy which
- One outdoor camera, free live view: the D1 Max. Event clips can go on a microSD card with no monthly fee (the listing does not say whether one is included), or on a paid cloud plan.
- A 2K view of one entrance: the D1 Lite, but only for its listed smart alarm, since it costs the same as the D1 Max today.
- A front door: the R1 Ultra, budgeting for the base unit (price not read today) and the Face ID plan.
- Two years of history at the lowest cost: Ring Solo, not aosu.
- Footage kept on a card in the camera: the D1 Max, D1 Lite and Reolink Go PT Ultra all take microSD.
A solar camera still needs sun on its panel. If the spot is shaded, a power station is a separate purchase, and the Jackery, EcoFlow and Bluetti comparison covers those.
FAQ
Does the SolarCam D1 Max need a monthly plan?
No. aosu's listings say local storage is microSD with no monthly fee; the D1 Lite listing adds that the card is not included. The cloud plan is optional: Basic is $4.99 a month for event video, read on November 3, 2026.
How much does aosu's cloud plan cost over two years?
$119.76 per camera on Basic at monthly billing, so $209.75 for one D1 Max with its sale price. The yearly price is not on the page we read.
Is aosu's sale price real?
It is the price the store charges today, read on November 3, 2026, and its offer data runs to November 13, 2026. The struck-through prices are estimated values, not past prices.
Does the R1 Ultra need the aosuBase mini?
For local storage, the listing says clips store on the aosuBase mini first. Cloud is optional and adds backup. The base's price was not read today, so check it before you buy the doorbell.
Is there a free trial on aosu's plan?
aosu's product pages say 7 days, its plan FAQ says 30; check the app before you subscribe. Read the plan terms on aosu's store, and cancel before the trial ends if you do not want the first charge.
Methodology
We read aosu's US store and plan page, and the rival US pages, on November 3, 2026. The order is fit for one reader: someone who wants one outdoor camera with no monthly fee for live view. Figures marked computed come from the vendor prices on this page. We did not test any of these cameras.
Sources
- aosu SolarCam D1 Max, US store, read November 3, 2026
- aosu SolarCam D1 Lite, US store, read November 3, 2026
- aosu Video Doorbell R1 Ultra, US store, read November 3, 2026
- aosu cloud plans (aosuProtect+), US store, read November 3, 2026
- Ring Protect plans, read November 3, 2026
- Ring Outdoor Cam 2K, read November 3, 2026
- eufy cloud backup plans, US, read November 3, 2026
- eufy outdoor security cameras, US, read November 3, 2026
- Reolink Go PT Ultra, US product page, read November 3, 2026
Related reading
- eufy vs Ring vs Reolink, compared on price and plans
- Ring alternatives for buyers who want no subscription
- Ring vs SimpliSafe for an alarm system with monitoring
- Jackery vs EcoFlow vs Bluetti for power stations
Check the current price on aosu's store before you buy. Open aosu's US store.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.